We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, superb service, curious music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Restaurant & Bar

Waterfront Restaurant & Bar
48 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Swiss Cafe & Grill)
+64 9-402 6701
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: OPEN CHRISTMAS DAY 11.30AM TILL 2PM & 5PM TILL LATE Waterfront Restaurant & Bar is located in central Paihia with views overlooking Russell, with our large al fresco area. Relax & unwind with local wines, seafood & prime beef while watching the sunset over the yachts in the bay.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great food, superb service, curious music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ate here a couple of times during a three day stop in Paihia. Looks a bit temporary, but is not. The food was excellent, and the service friendly and prompt. It's best for straightforward food, rather than being terribly sophisticated, but the quality is excellent. I highly recommend the John Dory fried in tempura batter with chips. As good a plate of fish and chips as anywhere I've eaten (and I have sixty-odd years of being a fish and chip afficionado, with global experience). Wierd background music: Rolling Stones bossanova style.....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    94
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
AUCKLAND
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A very good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We dropped in for dinner. The staff were attentive and our waitress most personable.
The food was to a good standard, well-presented and with a good range on the menu.
Prices reasonable.
Walking past a few nights later we noticed it to be quite busy so we guess it would pay to book in the high season

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Ended up going here and having a three course meal as the food was so nice. I had the lamb chops for main which were lovely. The staff were great too, everyone was so friendly and very attentive.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We turned up on a busy night but the staff worked hard to get everyone waiting through. Nice food, good service. Excellent location near the water.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Really attentive staff and a wonderful menu and wine list - not too many options but all bases covered. We enjoyed a shared starter and then steaks - both cooked to perfection. Too full for dessert but they looked and sounded awesome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.