We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Service and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Restaurant & Bar

Waterfront Restaurant & Bar
48 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Swiss Cafe & Grill)
+64 9-402 6701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open from 5pm till late Early Bird specials from 5pm till 7pm of April & May Waterfront Restaurant & Bar is located in central Paihia with views overlooking Russell, with our large al fresco area. Relax & unwind with local wines, seafood & prime beef while watching the sunset over the yachts in the bay.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We mostly enjoyed a great meal at Waterfront Restaurant and Bar in January 2014. However as a starter, my husband order the prawn cocktail special. unfortunately the prawns were not at all fresh, they were soggy (I think frozen) and the sauce was too strong and far too much sauce was served. For mains, my husband ordered Fish &Chips and I ordered Snapper. These main courses were fantastic, the fish was fresh and perfectly cooked. The services was also excellent, very helpful, but not imposing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    118
    42
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

These people know how to run a restaurant, not only is the place as good as it was last year it was even better...the service in particular of Wow standard!
We eat in NZ restaurants and internationally and this has got to be a great example of good ole fashioned Kiwi service like we used to get.
We ate there four times in one week and would have returned again had we had time...maybe you should become a training establishment for good restaurant management! Well done highly recommended and we will be back. Thanks Lyle and Gail Irwin, our kids and our friends whom all loved it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

dined there on Sunday night
Got a front table overlooking the water
Service staff were great, very welcoming and friendly
Only issue i had was that they stated the fish and chips was |John Dory, i was doubtful at the time of ordering as it was in batter and was only $24 so my assumption was correct as it was deep sea dory , I couldnt complain because of the price , just an oversight by the wait staff
Dessert finished off a pleasant evening

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food except the steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nice atmosphere, good service and brill location. The food was mostly good, but the steak was not nice at all. Very fatty and not cooked well. The restaurant staff didn't charge us for the steak meal, which was good of them, but we were disappointed due to the generally excellent recommendations we'd had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I had dinner here on 3rd January Friday night and was looking forward to a pleasant evening. After checking out trip advisor, we decided to come here. What a big mistake! I was not impressed at all. Service was very poor. Food! My gosh.. I know that good food takes time to cook but after waiting for almost an hour it did not turn out to be "good". I'm sorry but everything on our plate tasted like it all came from a packet. We had the eye fillet and rib eye and was not cooked very well. The restaurant itself looked very dirty and when a large cat walks around the restaurant while you're eating, it's not really very appetising. A total disappointment! We had to go to another restaurant and luckily we had a wonderful time and food was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.