We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bored” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Only Seafood

Only Seafood
40 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
09 402 6066
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Paihia, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Bored”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had out of town guests who wanted to go, but honestly we are bored the same old menu has been around for years and the price is just creeping up. Also DO NOT go here if you bottom is larger than size 16 you will be uncomfortable all night in their tiny chairs with arms! I wanted to ask for another without arms but just could not attract the waitresses attention.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    98
    45
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“over priced and still hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just been to dinner at this restaurant and it was terrible . The wine list is so over priced it nearing on ridulous. The meals are over priced for what you get and you really need to be fond of fancy lettuce as you get half a lettuce on your plate along with scraps of other bits of salad bits.
My sea food platter had 3 oysters,3 mussells coated with mint sauce yuk,3 pieces of sushi that was so badly made it had holes in it. The raw fish had no flavour at all really bland some raw tuna 4 slices and sashimi 4 pieces. All this for the grand total of $34.90 what a rip off.
Not impressed have come home and stilll hungry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should have eaten here twice..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great fresh seafood. I had the red snapper and it was very well prepared. If I had to do it all over, I would have had dinner there twice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Fish on the Beach Front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Food is great - restaurant lives up to its name. Staff are friendly. Don't miss it if you are in Paihai!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They only do Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

And they're very good at it. Set back from the far from busy main road, the restaurant looks like someones house. Food is excellent yet unpretentious. NZ do seafood well and Only Seafood do it superbly. Eat here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Only Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Only Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Only Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.