We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lip's Cafe

Lip's Cafe
Selwyn Rd, Paihia, New Zealand
(09) 402 7185
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Friendly welcome in charming bistro setting with good ambiance. The food was of high quality with an excellent menu choice at good value prices. They do BYO so take a bottle and save a little more as they charge $5 corkage.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    11
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed it, the orange juice was freshly squeezed and in a huge glass! The prcies were very reasonable compaedd to the hotel we stayed in. The staff were very friendly and the place had a very welcoming atmosphere.. You can eat in or outside, the menu was varied with great choices. Would definately return here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had very nice fish and chips with a glass of wine. Staff were very attentive and did not hurry us even though we were the last in the building.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely menu choice and very fresh modern take on the food which was delicious. Service was very friendly and we would go there again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Award Winning?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place looked a bit rustic but the sign out the front states it’s an ‘award winning restaurant’ so in I trotted. Ordered an $8.00 Corona and was told I couldn’t have lime in at as limes were expensive?? Started with some garlic / pesto bread which came out burnt. My fillet steak was poorly cooked and the beef was certainly not a restaurant quality cut (Pack-n-Save do far better), the tempura vegtables were so bad I almost went back to my hotel to fetch my camera. Stodgy, soggy batter of some sort covering god only knows what. I left the lot, pondering if the American girl serving would ask about the meal as she cleared the table, her only comment was “well done”…………….obviously she had eaten there too!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lip's Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Lip's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lip's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.