We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Chinese Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Wah Restaurant

King Wah Restaurant
Paihia Mall, Paihia, New Zealand
09 402 7566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood, Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Buffet
Description: Located in Paihia, King Wah Chinese Seafood Restaurant has been at the forefront of the Paihia dining scene for many years.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Great Chinese Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The food here is very good and the buffet at $25 a head is very reasonable considering the selection which includes oysters and fresh prawns. The crispy wan tons and spring rolls were the best I've ever eaten anywhere. The service is friendly and helpful a real find slightly off the beaten track.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

my partner and I go to king wah when our tummies are empty because we are always guaranteed to be well satisfied after eating from their wonderful buffet! They have a great selection of Chinese food, dessert and OYSTERS! I highly recommend king wah for their delicious FAT oysters and their Chinese honey ribs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Always satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We never have to book, and yet the very accommodating staff always find my wife and I a table. The service is excellent and friendly. We always dine here when we come to Paihia 3-4 times a year. A buffet is the best way to go. The seafood, especially the oysters in the shell- are superb and fresh. The pork riblets are a favourite. And an awesome selection of mains foods and dessert with coffee to finish. A very busy restaurant, compared with other restaurants in Paihia. It will always be our first choice. Great value for $25-$29 per adult.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great variety of Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our Travel Club were impressed with the great variety of food at King Wah. The service was excellent. Good value for money

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“take away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We liked the look of this place and fancied a take away to our motel room. Whilst looking at menu outside a friendly waiter popped out and encouraged us to the outside buffet counter around the corner. Looked nice and promised a return after a glass of wine in a local bar.

Upon our return we decided on our selection (you may have a number of choices for a fixed price). We asked that the food items be placed in separate containers as we did not want each of our several different flavours piled into two containers. This was REFUSED! I thought maybe there was a language problem and politely repeated my request even offering to pay extra for the containers. Refused! "Boss no agree". Another customer waiting to be served also helped to explain but again we were told could not be done. Hello? Too complicated?

We took our business elsewhere, See comments for Greens Indian and Thai just around the corner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Wah Restaurant also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to King Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Wah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.