We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They starved us to death” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 43 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“They starved us to death”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The restaurant has the best location in Paihia but their service and food quality weren't near the best for sure. It was a bit chilly but my friend and I decided to sit outside to enjoy the view. We ordered some drinks and food, but we got our food nearly 50 mins after we ordered them and by then, we were starved and freezed to death. we had already finished our drinks by the time they brought the food so we ordered some more drinks but we got them after we finished the food..what's worse, the food wasn't worth the waiting. We went to another restaurant to have some more food and drinks after all the waiting and being freezing and spending a lot of money!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    199
    96
    54
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Left disappointed and hungry...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

2 adults and 2 children for an early dinner. Very disappointed by food. Children's menu only had one option available - fish and chips - and both children were still hungry portion was so small. Adults food was also not as you would expect. Would not visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi there - thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We must apologise that we could only offer one item of the items from the childrens menu on your visit, I understand that with it being the Easter holidays we had sold out of some produce. We are currently looking into adding more variety to the childrens menu and have discussed as a team how we can avoid this issue happening during busy periods. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walked in...walked out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for 2 earlier in the day. I had read the reviews but thought we would try it anyway. The restaurant was not full and we were seated at a table by a doorway and then my chair was moved so I was seated at a right angle next to my husband. The table was very small and the seating arrangement was awkward so I asked the waitress if we could be moved. She looked surprised and muttered something about that she would ask. That was enough for us. We got up and walked out to spend our $$$$ elsewhere. The guy in charge ran after us but we told him not to bother.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi there. We understand that it may seem odd when the restaurant is not full and staff would have to check if you could be moved but we do take a lot of bookings and inform everyone that we cannot ensure their desired table. However this is a matter that should have been dealt with in a more hospitable way and we are sorry if you were made to feel uncomfortable. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look it with our front of house team, kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great food! Spectacular views! Fantastic aquarium! Awesome service from our waitress Hannah! When in Paihia this place is a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Bevan - thanks for a great review. We are very pleased to hear that you received great service from our lovely Hannah - we will be sure to pass your feedback on and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice Seafood platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really liked the seafood platter, the best Salmon we have ever had, The Pav was a let down as it really was just a meringue, would visit again

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Cam. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very pleased to hear that the salmon was the best you ever had, what a compliment. I will be sure to pass on your comments on the platter and the pav to the chef. We hope you had an enjoyable trip to Paihia. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.