We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful dish, great service, and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 43 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Welington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“beautiful dish, great service, and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I walked into 35 degree in a hurry as I had a boat to catch. The waitress was kind, although the service was a bit slow. I had their signature fish, which is worth waiting. That was my first time trying that fish. The combination of the fish, kumura, and herbs was perfect. The texture was smooth. The taste of each ingredient is distinct, yet joins each other harmoniously. It is definitely a must try!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Janet, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you enjoyed your time in Paihia. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    199
    96
    54
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

you need some decent music we watched a maori busking in the street he played sax giutar and ukulele good entertainer

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi. We have local talented musicians that play right through the weekend but thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Arrived sat down waited and waited!! 2 waitresses passed bye 1 finally said 'do you want a menu' dropped menu on table. We had said no to the menu as knew what we wanted to order. Then waited 15 mins as waitresses + 1 waiter passed not one made eye contact with us. At this point decided to walk away.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Rob, thank you for taking time to write your review. We are very disappointed to learn of the experience you had, it sounds like you were out at Alongside. We promote a 'heads up' type of customer service to our front of house team and this did not fulfill what we hope to achieve. I have addressed this issue with the team. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Difficult to review this restaurant. The setting on the water looks spectacular but the decor inside is not very tasteful. The open kitchen looks very professional and food was ok but the choice on the menu is quite odd. Some staff are very friendly and helpful but others are rude and not concentrated on the guests. The way they try guests to add a tip, which is absolutely no obligation nor a habit in NZ, seemed a bit like like a tourist trap. We left a cash tip on the table for the friendly waitress, but the cashier exoected us to add one on the credit card check as well. A tip must be the initiative of the customer. The restaurant must not ask you if you want to add a tip or not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the restaurant. We apologise if you were offended by the prompt to add a tip when you made payment. This is something we have been working on as many European diners are used to this method, we would never want to make anyone feel obliged to tip and we understand it is not customary in NZ but if our front of house staff have provided good service, we also do not want them to loose out on a tip that has been lost in translation. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect food matches the perfect view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived about 8:30 on a recent Friday night. We were up from Auckland and traffic meant we were late by about 30 minutes - not to worry, we were given a great table with a view out to the bay of islands. Our waitress Violet Rose was great, a real kiwi attitude, but also quick, professional and funny. A bit of a shame some of the local wines were out of stock, as were the local oysters, but the menu is so full of great options it didn't really matter. The menu is designed by TV chef Michael van den Elzen, who runs The Food Truck in Auckland, and there is some of his flare in the menu but the ingredients are a bit more higher-end than his food truck fare. My tua tua (clam) entree in linguine was so rich and delicious...I should have stopped there and Ainslee and I thought you could get away with just an entree each and still be satisfied. She ate pork belly with apple fritter and some sort of honey and cream sauce. So good! well, better than good. The apple fritters were kind of like deep-fried sweet doughboys and the dish was the stand out.
Foolishly we decided to follow that up, with the ginormous seafood platter for two after Violet Rose told us all that it came with. platters can be hit/miss but this one was a winner. So much good food. and at $70 it's great value and could easily feed a group of four. The scallop potato-crusted Hapuka was the standout along with the fresh local smoked kingfish.
Espresso creme brulee was deliciously balanced with figs and some sort of chewy nut toffee thing and worth the slow waddle home.
I was a bit iffy on this place, due to some of the mediocre reviews here and the fact that lots of restaurants in great locations rest on their laurels and can be sub-par....but I couldn't recommend this place more. Tourist trap, yes...but amazing food, service and views.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi there, thank you very much for providing us with some great feedback. We are delighted that Violet Rose provided some excellent customer service and will be sure to pass your comments on to her! We do apologise for the oysters being unavailable during your visit, at this time of year they spawn and are not so good to eat - hopefully you could visit again at some point to try them. Your dining experience is just what we strive to achieve, it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and we thank you kindly for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.