We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as I remember” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Not as I remember”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had drinks and late lunch with friends here.... Took them there because this place was great when I was here about 4 years ago..... The service was slow part of our order wasn't even delivered. the staff did not know what they were doing... The price was on the high side for what it offered and the colour scheme of the place did not give it atmosphere.... Sadly I would not go back again....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi - we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at the restaurant and that the staff did not come across as competent. Your feedback has been passed on to the front of house team. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    199
    96
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Breakfast!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Popped in for breakfast, was stoked with the food. Surprisingly cheap for a restaurant that serves a significant amount of free range and organic products. Service could handle a touch up, but being a slow morning the casual atmosphere was lovely and our meals were brought out very swiftly and of a fantastic quality. Would strongly recommend! Views are also fantastic and we watched stingrays glide on past as we ate. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi - thanks for a great review! How wonderful that the stingrays made an appearance - we are very lucky to have such an awesome location. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and we hope you have a fab time in Paihia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Showed promise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Centrally located on the waterfront in Paihia, this restaurant is in a fabulous location.

Although the lunch menu was quite restricted, the food on it looked enticing. Service was a little slow, considering there were very few people in the restaurant. However, the food was nicely presented and looked good to eat when it arrived.

My wife enjoyed the meatballs and had the pork with a leek and potato pie accompaniment. The pork was cooked well, juicy and not at all dry. However, the accompanying pesto whilst fresh was a little overpowering for the dish, and the leek and potato with a pie crust topping lacked any real depth of flavour.

Service was also average, with the waitress getting the wine order wrong and not offering any extras, eg pepper.

Would I return? Probably, in the hope that the small issues we had were one-offs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time out to write this review. We appreciate your feedback as it is essential for us to improve. We also love the pictures you uploaded! Hopefully you had a fantastic trip to New Zealand, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We both enjoyed our meals. I had the best chicken caesar salad ive had in a long time. We were seated with a view of the water so it was just beautiful. We will be back next time we visit Paihia.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi - thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review. We are very pleased by your comment on the caesar salad and look forward to seeing you when you next return to Paihia! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“High expectations but disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Me and my partner were really looking forward to having a relaxing meal here but first impressions weren't great. First we were seated right next to the kitchen surrounded by noisy staff and a service bell going off every two seconds. The table next to us sent their meals back which didn't give us high expectations about our food, we ordered the lamb which was average at best the mash that came with it was not nice. We didn't bother staying for dessert. I will say though that the wait staff were pleasant. Probably won't bother revisiting in the future!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Georgina - We are very sorry to hear that your experience at the restaurant was disappointing. Unfortunately at this time of year we can be very busy and are sorry that you did not enjoy where you were seated close to the kitchen and the pass where food is served from. I have passed your feedback regarding the food to the chef. We are glad that you found the front of house team pleasant. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.