We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $8 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food and service were great and the view tranquil. The large fish tank was a great centre piece and was a hit with the children that were there. the staff were knowledgeable on both food and drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Doug, we are so glad to to hear that you had a great anniversary dinner @ 35degrees! We like our staff to be knowledgeable about the menus as it means they can offer real advice on dishes and drinks to match to make your dining experience the best we can offer. Thanks for choosing us for your special occasion and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    222
    124
    67
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Very Let Down.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We didn't have a good experience when we dined here.
We were let down so many times during the evening starting.
FIRSTLY: The menu on this website ISN'T even the current menu. We were looking forward to the $99 Seafood Platter only to find out it is no longer served. IT WAS 2 MONTHS OLD as informed by our waiter.
SECONDLY: My husband & I are big eaters, so we decided to share the $65 Seafood Platter between us and our friends wanted to wait for their mains. Our entree ended up going to the wrong table, they of which arrived AFTER us.
THIRDLY: Our mains took nearly an hour to arrive. Now, this wouldn't have been a problem if we hadn't had an entree as by the time our mains arrived, I was full. It also wouldn't have been too bad if we didn't have 2 young children with us. We purposely booked at 6pm so that we could get our children home, and not disturb other patrons, but didn't get to leave until after 9PM!
The situation was not handled very well. All the staff members knew we weren't happy and most (Except for BEN, our waiter. He was great, by the way.) tried to avoid us.
The price ended up up way too pricey for what they had on offer. I HAVE HAD BETTER.
We'll never come back.
Very disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Mai - thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. The restaurant has been undergoing some changes recently, we are currently in the middle of updating our website and thank you for pointing out the issue with older menus- we got straight on to the web team and they have ammended this. The particular evening you were in we were in the process of training some new staff for the summer season, we did not expect to be busy that evening and greatly apologise for any issues with service. We are glad that Ben was of help to you. I am aware that the general manager visited your table that night and we do try our best to resolve any issues immediately and make the customer happy. Again thank you for your correspondance, we take on board all feeback we recieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely food great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Fab live music playing sat at a beautiful table with sea view and watched the sun set. The food was scrummy. Unfortunately the dusting hadn't been done and the Window frames were filthy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Nigel - thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the live music we had on that evening - some great local talent in Paihia that we like to showcase! Apologies for the dust that you saw, you probably noticed that we are in the middle of some renovations and while it is no excuse, we are trying to keep on top of it so our customers have a pleasant experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the food (and the view) and maybe we will see you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Pretty cool restaurant, view of the ocean and a huge aquarium in the centre. Great food, especially the seafood! Must try!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Cathy. Thank you very much for your review. We like to think we have a pretty cool place here too and the aquarium is certainly a special feature. We try to use as much local seafood as possible and are lucky enough to be licenced to line-catch the fish for the restaurant ourselves. Very glad you enjoyed it! Hopefully we will see you back at 35 Degrees South in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great small plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This classy place that you can wear your jeans to has great small plates. The Pork Belly, Sirloin Satay, Chips aka French Fries and Potato Skins are top notch.
For dessert order the Pavlova it's made as your grandmother would make it.
Go sit and enjoy the view and the wonderful service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Isarrade - we are delighted with your review and so glad you enjoyed your 35 Degrees South experience! You pretty much summed up the atmosphere we are trying to achieve, one that is relaxed yet top quality. The small plates are great for trying a few different dishes when you just can't make your mind up! The view is stunning and I hope you got to see Paihia in all its glory in the sunshine. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we hope you had a fantastic trip in New Zealand. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.