We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $8 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful location on the wharf and a great place to watch boats come and go. However we found the quality of the food was average

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    222
    124
    67
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location shame about everything else.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A great shame that the food and service doesn't equal the decor and location. Situated over the water adjacent to the jetty in Paihia looking out to the beautiful Bay of Islands. You pay a premium price for below average food. The service was slow and impersonal, if you ask for something a little different to the menu due to a dietary requirements the answer is we only do what is on the menu. I am a local and will never return to this venue.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laer11, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Wow, what a review, please accept my apologies, we at 35 Degrees are very proud of our great Northland service and our fabulous food, our staff go out of their way to cater for various diets. Accept our apologies that you did not experience this. Please give us the opportunity to treat you, we have many locals and tourists pass through our doors, having wonderful experiences, we would like you to share this.
Kind regards
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Located on the wharf, 35 Degree South has prime location in Paihia and a really interesting aquarium that is the centre piece of the restaurant. From the moment we walked in, the service was excellent, our waitress was engaging, gave us choice of seats and was very attentive. The food was good. The oysters are enormous! The biggest we have ever seen so unless are a really huge oyster fan (and big eater.....) 6 is more than enough. The calamari starter was tender and the sauce was lovely, just the right amount of spice. For mains, the seafood linguine was great. It was loaded with mussels, fish, prawns, scallops and calamari and the sauce was light and laced with garlic - yum. Our other main was fish and chips which was not bad. Fish was crispy, chips were good. Well worth a visit and the service will not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laer11, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you, what an awesome review, this is exactly what we at 35 Degrees strive to provide. We look forward to treating you once again.
Kind regards
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oysters to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This restaurant has the BIGGEST, fattest, creamiest oysters I have had for a very long time. Thank goodness we only had half a dozen for the appetiser/entree. Anymore and we would not have coped! The fish was cooked beautifully as well. My only quibble with dinner was that the bucket of fries as an extra were rather "fatty" in taste from the lard(?) they were cooked in. That was disappointing as the rest of the meal was excellent. The staff were friendly as well. We had an interesting spot by the aquarium wall and near the kitchen so we were entertained by the fish and by the wait staff coming and going.
We returned the next day for brunch which was also very good. Maybe not quite as good as dinner, but still good. The eggs benedict with smoked salmon was lovely. You have to order at the bar for lunch so it is a lot more casual during the day. One thing to be aware of is that it can be a little cold in the restaurant so make sure you take a wrap or jacket if you tend to feel the cold. Would we go back again? YES!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laer11, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful review, our oysters are farmed locally and we are always proud to serve them , they are hugely popular . I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much that returned for brunch. We look forward to providing you with excellent service and decadent food on your return.
Kind regards
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great place to relax and have something to eat and drink after touring around. The waitresses need some knowledge about the food. I asked the waitress a question about something on our platter and she said,I don't know.She did not even say would you like me to ask the chef.The platter was lovely but not very much on it.Great views out over the harbour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laer11, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, 35 Degrees is a wonderful spot to relax, Our manager has followed up with the staff member in question and she is well schooled on the seafood platter. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Kind regards
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.