We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, modern and clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Save Saved
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, modern and clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom beach view suite and was impressed with the quality of the rooms and seaviews. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    75
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and used this as our base for exploring the Bay of Islands. As we had the car we found that the onsite car parking was very convenient and there was no charge.
The location is close enough to Paihia town but far enough out to be quiet. There are also a few other apartments/hotels close by.
We were a little disappointed in the size of the property as it really is more of an upmarket, modern motel than a true apartment property. The management live in (like a motel) and operate the property in more of a motel manner.
The rooms however are modern, stylish and comfortable.
We booked a non view room and looked out onto the house next door. The patio for the room is directly on the access way for all the rooms so not very private. However- as we were out everyday, we didn’t mind much.
Overall the rooms are lovely but the property is more of a motel and best for using for the room only and going out the rest of the time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

The Seaspray Suites is sandwiched between another motel and a very active car repair shop. The few rooms that face the Bay of Islands were booked so we had units in the main body of the motel. They're small but serviceable, clean and adequate - but you have a view out one side of the building directly into the adjacent motel rooms, and out the other side into the service bays of the Shell station. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent, the rooms clean. The only internet access was the grossly overpriced service with marginal coverage we could pick up from an adjacent motel. The location's a 10-15 minute walk from the center of town, right across from a nice beach with a large playground.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Booked a 1 bedroom premium suite with AMAZING view - was well worth the extra money - you get what you pay for!!!! Unit was clean, comfortable & quiet with fabulous cooking facilities and dishwasher! Would loved to have stayed longer - can't wait to return.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I think this is a slight case of false advertising. The Sea Spray Suites website makes this place look fantastic but really its just a glorified motel.
Yes the unit was clean and spacious but "nestled in the surrounding bush" is stretching the truth a bit. The "private patio" was adjacent to the walkway that everyone used to access the surrounding units and looked out on to the back of a service station and ugly car yard. The bed was inifinitely uncomfortable and the air-conditioning unit did nothing to cool the bedroom.
Also, the toilet had something wrong with the flushing mechanism which would result in the toilet constantly refilling the cistern, when I mentioned this to the lady at reception when checking out she apologised and said it happened on and off all the time. Would have been nice to know that beforehand.
Would I stay here again? Yes, if I needed a clean, motel like place to stay but thats about it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I definately would not be visiting this Hotel again. I have nothing nice to say about this property. Located right next to car yard and petrol station, so your overlooking car wrecks. No kitchen dining table. and what really ticked me off was that we ran out of plunger coffee and asked for more, when the MANAGER told me and my wife " THIS IS A RECESSION and you only get one Coffee sachet on arrival " I mean how rude of her to deny us coffee when we were paying more than enough just to stay there. I got onto the phone as soon as possible to the Bay of Islands Regional manager. I was quite angry by the time i got his phone number. I explained to him why I was so upset and he seemed a little irriatated, that i had gone out of my way to make a phone call to him and his staff coudnt give me a $ 3.50 sachet of coffee. The conversation ended and he did apologise for the incident.

Overall Manager was not nice,Location horrible, Receptionist seemed like she had a chip on her shoulder, when asking for local knowledge , I was snapped at. VERY dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I booked the Sea Spray for a weekend away to celebrate my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary. The location was good and the rooms were beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean but I was really disappointed that we didn't get a sea front room. I specifically requested a room with a view and balcony but we were placed in one of the many ground floor rooms in the middle and it felt so calustrophobic as a result. Only one of the sea front rooms was occupied in the time we were there and having no view really put a huge dent in our weekend as the weather was pretty bad and we wanted to lounge around but felt we just had to get out because without an outlook of any kind staying in during daylight was almost unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;