We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, close to main attractions but out of step with wi-fi charges.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, close to main attractions but out of step with wi-fi charges.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Away from the main strip where the wharf is located so relatively quiet from outside noise. Close to Waitangi; tasteful, modern, clean decor and great views from the front appartments but two negatives. You will hear the guests stomping around their wooden floors above you in the front apartments and you will be charged for wi-fi which is out of step with many similar places where wi-fi is free (and increasingly becoming more the norm in NZ) . Fix these two issues and it would be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Bliss43,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our suites modern and clean. Thank you for your comments regarding the Wi-Fi access; we do offer a free 100MB packet of data daily to all guests, and a small charge of $5 for 500MB from there.

We apologise for any inconvenience created by noise from the suite above. Hopefully this was not too detrimental to your experience.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    126
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
61
171
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great quality rooms walking distance from town and set off point for Bay of Islands tours. Very clean and quiet. Kitchenette was well stocked and replenished daily. Hand written welcome note was a nice touch really personalised the service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mjntc,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is key to knowing where we can improve, or in your case, where we are succeeding in our efforts.

We hope to welcome you back should you return to Paihia at a later date!

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Although our initial experience of an extremely narrow driveway and a reception at the wrong end of the complex, the rest of our stay was excellent. The view was worth every cent we paid. Looking out to the bay was the highlight of our stay. If there was a downside it was storage. We stayed for 5 nights and literally lived out of our suitcases. There were no dressers for our stuff. But that's minor. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: In the heart of Paihia. Great value and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Fred M,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I completely understand your comments regarding storage options available in your suite, and this is something which is at the top of our list as we move forward with refurbishments later this year. We are very happy that the view was worth your while, and that most aspects of your stay went according to plan.

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Paihia.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at in NZ for the prices we were paying. Spacious room with a separate bedroom (with a t.v.) and a large bathroom. They seem to go the extra mile to make their guest feel welcome. The room had a nice kitchenette and the grocery store is not far away. The hotel is just across the street from the water, so if you're an early riser you can catch a good sunrise! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Veggiescramble,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the suite and thought it was good value and spacious. It is also nice to hear that you perceived the effort we put into making our guests feel at home.

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I met in Paihia over twenty years ago and flew to NZ to celebrate our anniversary. From Lucie at check-in greeting us with a welcoming smile, gourmet chocolates in our room and a lovely 'no worries' attitude (even though we arrived late) to the clean, freshly decorated suite to the fantastic, quiet location across from the beach, yet close enough to town to visit some of the great places to eat. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat- thank you for a memorable and very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Leisa S,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. We are most pleased that you found both the staff and your suite to be welcoming. It was lovely to hear the story of why you had chosen to return to Paihia, and it was great to be able to contribute to a memorable return to the Bay of Islands.

Wishing you both all the best. We hope to welcome you back should you return to New Zealand in the future.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We enjoyed the accommodation at the Sea Spray Suites as we had chosen to book a room on the upper floor facing the sea - being able to gaze out over that view was divine. The room itself was clean and spacious and well fitted out in terms of self catering. The washing machine didn't work but alternative arrangements could be provided via reception. The bathroom was small but functional and the bedroom could be walled off with sliding doors so was pretty quiet at night. The suites are a little out of centre of town but only a 5-10 min flat walk away - good exercise and a chance to walk off the holiday excess!

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the sea a must. Great view. On the road so had potential for noise but not very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Billy0063,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view and the suite! Apologies for the washing machine - we currently have a replacement on it's way.

We hope to see you again should you return to Paihia.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have stayed here 4 years in a row and have always been delighted by the service we received, the friendliness of the staff, how clean and well looked after the accommodation is.
We have been lucky enough to stay at the front apartments with a fabulous view and a cooling sea breeze, as well the upper apartments which benefit from more light and less coming and going than the lower ones.
Clean, well fitted and excellent value we would highly recommend them. A 10 minute walk to Paihia but as it is along the coast the scenery is worth enjoying.

Room Tip: Book in advance in peak times and look for an upper floor or front apartment with Sea and Beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ihammie,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your most recent visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your fourth stay with us, and that you have found our suites to be up to par each time. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

Perhaps we will see you again next year!

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Spa Hotel in Paihia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.