We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Fresh and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern, Fresh and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the deluxe room, one bedroom suite and it was great. Clean and modern boasting up-to-date decor that made you feel right at home. It was also fantastic to have a real queen bed (not two single beds pushed together like some accommodations opt for).
The only downfalls were the jostle for a car park and the small outdoor area. It was a, 'park wherever you like' deal and that made it difficult to cart your luggage to your room when people had parked right in front of your suite. At one point we had to park to the rear of the complex and walk to the front of the building to our room. If only they could allocate the car parks according to the location of your suite.
The small outdoor area - if you're wanting space to relax with a view, I would suggest choosing another suite (and paying the extra) as the deluxe room had limited space to sit outside and there wasn't a view of the beach at all to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Britt_Shan,

Thank you for letting us know how you found your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found your suite clean and comfortable. We have noted your comments regarding the parking and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
130
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Wow, exactly 1 year has passed since staying for three nights in this superb upstairs, sea view, two bedroom unit. Very nicely appointed accommodation, very clean and tidy with friendly helpful staff. Heaps of space for two couples. Only criticisms were a 'jostle' for non allocated parking and having to get laden suitcases up a couple of flights of stairs. The last morning presented a beautiful view of a cruise ship anchoring right out front in the bay.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view but the complex is right on the beachfront, so easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Kim B,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that after such a period of time, you were again pleased with the time you spent with us.

We hope to see you again next time you are in the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Although there was no view, we knew this when we booked and it did not make a difference to us. The room was very clean and very good cooking facilities, cleaning services were really good and the entire stay was very pleasant. You are next to a petrol station, but this did not make any problems. It is about a 10 minute pleasant walk to the town centre which is nice, as you are out of the tourist crowds. Countdown shopping is only 5 minutes away also. Staff were very helpful, without being intrusive. The only thing which was a bit disappointing was the spa. It is tucked away in a little corner through the laundry and it is really only a back yard spa. Not a really big deal as you are there for sightseeing, not spending time in a spa.

Room Tip: If you want a view you would need to book the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Heatsfam,
Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the suite suitable to your needs. Thank you for your comments regarding the spa pool area. We do have plans in progress to bring this space to better use, and your notes will help us head in the right direction with this project.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a 5 day stay at this property on the waterfront, although we didn't have a sea view unit. Units were compact but modern and had most things you needed. We had a few teething problems with lack of light bulbs and a malfunctioning rangehood but staff were pleasant and helpful in getting things operating. We enjoyed our stay here but were surprised how much we could hear from the unit below as their courtyard was immediately beneath our bedroom. This was a problem at times. Also had to wait until late in the day for our unit to be serviced.

Room Tip: Upstairs units are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Bernybear,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay with us. We do apologise for the issues you had when getting settled in. We hope that you stay improved after the early issues were sorted. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the seaspray between the 5th and 9th November 2013, we had a premium one bedroom apartment, the view was awesome, it was modern, well equipped and lovely and clean. I will recommend these apartments to others, Well worth paying extra for the ocean view rooms at the front.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gina,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our Premium suites while you were here. We hope to see you again next time you are in Paihia!

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here in October 2013 and really loved the place, we had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 1st floor.

the apartment complex is modern, clean and the apartment itself has all the mod cons including large fridge freezer, full cooking facilities and a dishwasher. (not that we used it)
the furniture is modern and comfortable and there was a TV in the bedroom as well as the lounge

best of all is the place was very quiet - often when you stay at motels / hotels, you can hear the people above / below talking, shutting doors...etc... but not here - total piece and quiet

the only negative (if I had to be picky) is the TV in the lounge was very small - but then again you're in holiday so you shouldn't be watching TV!

we would not hesitate to stay at Sea Spray Suites in Paihia if we come back here

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor seemed to get more light than the ones on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Muffinz,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your time in our suites. We do have a lovely quiet spot here.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your year, and should you ever end up in Paihia in the future, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We needed a place to stay before going on an overnight cruise in Paihia, the website does Sea Spray good justice. We booked a one bedroom premium suite. This provided us with an excellent view of the ocean. Kitchen was fully equipped, meaning we had nothing to organize ourselves. Suite is spacious and designed with modern decor. Staff were welcoming and friendly with lots of information about the area. Sea Spray provides a romantic, beach get-away, while seeming it can still provide for a family situation as well. One side note: The standard rooms did not have a view of the ocean and looked as if they did not get much natural lighting as they are provided on the side of the building. It is worth booking the premium suite.

Room Tip: Stay in a premium room to ensure you have a clear view of the neighboring ocean and that your room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that your stay with us set a good tone to the rest of your time in the Bay of Islands. Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back next time your are in the area.

Kind regards,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#16 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.