We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern layout for a good night's sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great modern layout for a good night's sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the sea spray suites for one night on the way home from Karikari Peninsula at the end February. We booked over the Internet for a very good price. When we arrived we were extremely pleased with the suite. We were on the ground floor with no view, but since we were there for just the night that was no bother.
Our arrival greeting was very friendly, and complimented with a lovely hand written note with a piece of yummy white chocolate and raspberry fudge from 'get fudged'. I know it was this flavour because I'd previously brought some. Great with a cup of tea and just a small slice.
I just loved the layout of the apartment, OK it was small but it had everything you could need for your stay. Modern tidy and bed was comfortable, very important when you have such long driving times the next day.
I would definitely be looking for more internet deals for this place again, for our next stay.
Well done guys. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    126
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
60
167
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The place is good, clean, with everything you need to cook and use the facilities.
We were received with a fudge welcome and a note writen in personal terms, that was great!
And also had no problems to extend our days with the same rate from the internet when we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When we arrived our welcoming was less than friendly. We did not have any milk in our room and when we asked for some the woman was rude and said she put it there herself. Our towels had some sort of black stains on them, the floor looked like it hadn't been swept as it still had the previous guests black hair scattered on it. The beds were terribly uncomfortable as well as the pillows. I was so disappointed with this accommodation. On the plus side, the location was nice, just a short walk from the main town centre and directly across the road from the beach. Having a fully equipped kitchen was definetly a bonus too. Wouldn't stay again however.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is such a lovely place to stay. Right on the beach and a short walk to restaurants, shops and the pier. The staff were very welcoming and we even got a little welcome treat on arrival. We had a one bedroom apartment which was lovely and newly refurbished. There was a kitchen with all the essentials, a nice outdoor table and chairs and nice lounge area. There was free parking and the area was very peaceful and quiet.
We only stayed one night here so will definitely go back for longer next time.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which meant we had the sun shining on us when we sat outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom premier suite with views out over the bay. The balcony was huge, so we spent a lot of time out there enjoying the views and relaxing. Having read previous reviews, we were expecting road noise and the service station next door, however the noise largely disappeared once the doors/windows were shut so didn't bother us at all. The service station also wasn't a problem (and we were right next door to it), we just looked in the other direction!
We found it to be a very family friendly place to stay, with baby-friendly furniture (our 1yo had cracked his head open earlier in the week on some sharp furniture at another hotel) and a really good beach was literally across the road. It was also very clean, and the host Shirley was very friendly. However, having read previous reviews, I'm wondering where our welcoming fudge was - lol.
The only issues we found were that parking was tight, and the beds were a little hard for our liking, but that's being picky. All in all, a really good stay, and a great base to explore the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are worth the extra price for the huge balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in the sea spray suites for a night in mid December. I booked over the Internet for a very reasonable price. When we arrived we were extremely pleased with the suite. We were on the ground floor with no view, which was what we expected given the price, but the decor and cleanliness and facilities were superb, far surpassing our expectations.
The complimentary fudge was a really nice touch too.
I would whole heartedly recommend the suites to anybody.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2012. Unfortunately we didn't get one of the waterfront apartments, so our view was of the back of the petrol station next door - not very attractive but a nice outside sitting area nonetheless.

The apartment itself was spotless, although the lino floor might do with replacing. It had obviously been cleaned but still looked and felt sticky. Plenty of room for a couple alone, fully functional kitchen including dishwasher (although you need a Ph.D. to operate the multi-functional oven - just phone reception and ask for help). Sky Movies on the TV was a bonus for the odd rainy day. Nice spacious bathroom.

Air conditioning is in the main living area only but if you leave all the windows closed the cool air circulates eventually. We found opening a few windows kept us perfectly cool in the nighttime despite it being in the mid to high 20s all day.

Although it is on the main drag, we didn't find the street noise at all bad. The main thing I could hear was the sound of the waves on the beach.

Room Tip: Try for a waterfront room if you can, however the ground floor waterfront rooms are actually in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Spa Hotel in Paihia
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.