We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Save Saved
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in Dec 2012, we were originally supposed to stay in the motel next door, but decided to go for the Sea Spray Suites instead and we're so glad we did.
When we arrived we were checked in without hassle and were in room 222 which had a courtyard view from the bedroom window and a view of the parking lot at the front, but from the lounge area, this wasn't bad at all!
The kitchen was fully equipped with cooking utensils etc. to make a good meal but there was no can opener!
The lounge was very open and light with plenty of room for just 2 people. The bed was very comfy and we had 5 good sleeps. The air con was excellent and actually worked really well, the room was cool all the time!
There is also a TV on the wall in the bedroom and we noticed another reviewer comment that they couldn't change the TV channels in the bedroom, but this is because you need to operate it with the lounge remote control, so we often went to bed and took the remote in with us.
The bathroom was again very light, spacious and had a good shower with decent power behind it with a shelf to put all your bathing products.
The suites are close to Countdown (for food), the Treaty Grounds and Paihia town centre. We didn't go in the Treaty Grounds as it was too expensive ($25pp), but the Haruru Falls trail is a must (Free), but wear comfortable shoes as it is long. It takes 1 1/2 hrs to complete and you either have to walk back the same way or go back from the other end of the town and walk on the road. They're both tiring and long! We got a lift back from a kind passer-by :0)
The only reason why I didn't give a 5 star was because I did spend a lot of time killing ants in the kitchen which seemed to be coming from a crack in the window, but it's not a major thing.
Overall a brilliant stay and if we ever passed by again, we would stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
100
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had 2 nights with my mum at sea spray suites. It was a good experience with clean toilet and bed room. The kitchen was fully equipped and sufficient for both of us to cook a nice meal.

The suites were close to countdown and restaurants- good convenient location.

One negative was that the cool air from the air con in living room wasn't going into the bedroom so making the nights somewhat stuffy..It will be better if there was free Internet too.

However, good experience and would recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently spent a very nice weekend at the Sea Spray Suites in Paihia. The location is just outside the hub-bub of downtown Paihia, but an easy 10 minute walk to the center of town. The modern rooms were clean and tidy, featured a updated kitchenette and tile floors throughout the suite. Some reviewers described a washer/dryer, but our room didn't have one. I assume those were for upgraded rooms.

We were greeted by a little tub of fudge (yum!) from one of the sweet shops downtown, but I was slightly disappointed by the view: the parking lot. I should have checked on TripAdvisor, but I guess I expected something a little nicer than that. The room description said it opened to a balcony, but a better description would be patio. It's an easy walk across the street to the beach, and features a good playground for the kids. One item of note about Paihia: during the summer, Paihia is FILLED with tourists fresh off a cruise ship. When we were there, two cruise ships were in the harbor, while the passengers were ferried into the docks. They basically took over the town, and the quiet vacation town turned into a flurry of activity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Waterfront location, short walk pier & restaurants. Basic cooking facilities (didn't previous review re oven also microwave!), we managed to create decent evening meal. Washing machine & dryer very useful. Although we faced the road, no noise during night as bedroom at rear of suite.

Room Tip: Full ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just finished a road trip of NZ. We started in Paihia 7 weeks ago and were fortunate to have stayed at Sea Spray. The accommodation was as described. We had the one bedroom with ocean views and those views were spectacular. Absolutely loved it and would recommend to anyone else

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean View rooms, up the top, great views, quiet, wonderful. Enjoy the room, well set up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice clean apartments that are well kitted out with what we needed, kitchen area was really good, good location just cross the road to the beach! Only reason this hasn't got the top rating is WiFi isn't free, you have to pay extra at reception. Other than that, great stay and would visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortdale, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clean, very spacious & well appointed rooms. Much bigger than most 1br residential aprtments. Located directly across the road from the beach & 10mins walk to Paihia wharf. Guest tip: the oven is also a microwave.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a patio/ outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.