We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but not plush.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfy but not plush.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Neat 3 star accommodation with all the usual features. The linen isn't changed daily unless you ask. Shirley (manager) is great and goes the extra mile to meet your needs. Wifi access is unstable and TVs are old with very limited channels. Close to local stores and a few minutes walk from the pier and Main Street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in a one bedroom apartment.Was welcomed by a wonderful and friendly host and a beautiful piece of fudge in our room.A nice little touch! Was very pleased with the appliences. We even had salt & pepper shakers.Very modern and comfortable. Only a 10 minute walk into the village for all the shops and activities. It was so nice to get up early in the morning and go for a refreshing walk along the beach just 50m away
Would definatetly recommend and use again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTallGuy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in the 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the beach. It is so worthwhile requesting this as its very relaxing sitting on the front porch watching the world go by. The bed was king size and in the front room, a bit nervous re all the traffic noise during the night but it was quiet and not that much noise so all good. The bathroom had a great big modern shower. The kitchen was fully equipped and had a laundry with a microwave and washing machine you needed to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to use them but we worked it out. The lounge room was comfie and dining table for 6. The fridge was double sided with ice machine!
We went to the supermarket called "countdown" about 3 blocks away, nearby and stocked on groceries. There are restaurants and cafes you can walk to and it's very relaxing ambience.. Wish we had stay longer! No free wifi.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to get an appt with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bootscooter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A really pleasant stay at Sea Spray Suites in the middle of a very cold July. Room was nicely furnished, modern, clean and warm. The heat pump was a nice addition rather than the usual heating arrangements. Kitchen was very well fitted and easy to use. We would have liked to have stayed longer. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a lovely 4 day/night stay at the Sea Spray Suites in Paihia, Bay of Islands. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Decor is nice and modern with full kitchen facilities and a heat pump/air con to take away the night chill. A good location and only a 10 minute walk to main shops, restaurants and ferries in one direction; and in the other direction, 10 minutes to the peaceful Waitangi and all its history of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840, and the times before and after that. We recommend Waitangi as a place for international visitors to attain a sense of what makes "New Zealand" what it is today, and for New Zealanders to refresh on their own history pre and post European settlement.
Back to Sea Spray Suites: the staff were friendly and helpful, and accommodating our our simple requests. Certainly at this time of year - July - the tarrif was fair and reasonable; good value overall.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, definitely choose a room with a sea view. We did not, but we spent many hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy and Albie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very tidy room, well serviced,but over used room there were holes in linoleum floor,grubby windows in the corners-NO FREE WIRELESS INTERNET AND ONLY 9 TV CHANNELS-3 were sport,one News so for the price was not value for money.
Great location though beach was across the road, front desk receptionist could have been friendlier and more hospitable.No pool or spa facilities.

Room Tip: rooms at back are quieter as are rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantwoakfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Sea Spray Suites. It was very clean and comfortable. Decor is nice and modern with full kitchen facilities and for winter - we enjoyed the heat pump/air con. A good location and only a short few minute walk to main shops, restaurants and activity centre. A great kids playground just across the road on the beachfront. A really nice spot at Sea Spray Suites - highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#17 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing