We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked the room, but there was no soundproofing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We liked the room, but there was no soundproofing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for one night in a Sea View Suite - we liked the room, it was very clean and the facilities were good. We like a firm bed so the bed suited us fine. It was very hot so we slept with the door to the terrace open and it was great listening to the waves, until about 7am when the traffic started up but that was to be expected, no problem.

Our only issue with the room was that we could hear every sound from the neighbouring rooms - even light switches being turned on and off. We could hear the other guests talking, walking, etc... Instantly made it feel more like a backpacker hostel room rather than the luxury room it was supposed to be!! I would still go back though, overall we liked the place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $30 or so for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
130
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I just want to give a shout out to Shirley. I booked this hotel for my boss who hasn't really taken a proper vacation in a good long time. Our office got together, pooled our money and asked Shirley to have a Welcome Basket (complete with wine, fruit and chocolates) waiting on arrival. Not only was Shirley more then happy to accommodate this request she went out of her way to be attentive, filed a comprehensive receipt and overall was a pleasure to work with. Although our team did not stay here, the manager is a gem and I think it's safe to say that this accommodation ROCKS.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed for 4 days in a waterfront suite and had a wonderful time. The unit was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The Manager Shirley was a wonderful help to us and advised us on everything from coach trips to Cape Reinga, fishing trips (we caught heaps and took some home for Shirley) and her local knowledge on the Treaty House , restaurants etc was a great help. We loved sitting on the balcony with a bottle of wine each night and the views were magnificent. The weather was great, the service was very professional and the location central to all attractions. We will recommend this accommodation to friends travelling to the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: Ask Shirley the Manager for a waterfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Although looking over a garage, the apartment interior was very impressive and well designed. Straight away however, we noticed how cold and uninterested the receptionist was. It was as if we were a bother to her and we received no additional information on the hotel or Pahia. We stayed for four nights and even though we requested our bed sheets to be cleaned, they were not. Even worse than this, was the fact that they never bothered to clean the apartment each day. We began to think that they didn't own a vacuum especially when it was quite obvious the floor needed it. Another receptionist who was on duty the day we left showed that they certainly don't believe in service with a smile...not even a 'how was your stay' or 'safe trip home'! Enjoyed Pahia but would not stay at sea spray again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

great place to stay, great service except there was an older lady at the front some times who gave the strong impression she was more ready to say no than to help you out, the other receptionist was absolutely fantastic though.
Great location, nice view and actually I preferred my room not being on the main road as it gave more seclusion, privacy and did not have a busy view (eg. cars going past on the main road).
I was a little concerned as some reviews on this site mentioned looking into a garage. I can see that this would be a problem, however it is only up one end and only 3-4 rooms that are affected thus. The rest of the rooms were fine with a good view over another motel and up a tree-filled hill. Very comfy beds. Pillows 3/5 stars, bed was great.

Room Tip: ask to be as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The website looked incredible ... with a room with a garden view I was expecting to be overlooking some lovely gardens that made you feel tranquil and idyllic. Unfortunately it was a very small courtyard off the back of the bedroom. The bed was as hard as rock - in fact I slept on the pull out couch as the bed gave me pain in my hips. The small accommodation was adequate and clean but the lack of a dvd player and the dark interior due to the overhanging balcony of the upstairs units was disappointing. The car spaces outside were so crammed together that parking the car was very difficult with a station wagon and none of them were numbered so you couldn't park outside your own unit as it was usually occupied by someone else's car. With people leaving at 6.00am in the morning and talking loudly outside and slamming of car doors, not to mention being able to hear people talking in the other units (above and beside) and hear furniture dragging above us, it was altogether disappointing. I had hoped for a lovely romantic getaway but was sorely disappointed. Wouldn't book a place again without seeing it first as we had a 3 1/2 hour trip up the island to get there and were disappointed once we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in February and was thoroughly happy with it. Booked a one bedroom deluxe fully contained suite. It was modern and spacious and very clean with ample parking.The suite contained everything we required including a dishwasher. They are located about a 5 minute walk to the main centre of the small town and 10 min walk to the supermarket. Don't really have anything negative to say it was just very nice!!! Can reccommend Franks pizza and wine bar in town for food (had a pizza with lamb on!!) and Vinnies fish and chips next door is amazin!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#16 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Boutique Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.