We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short visit to the Bay of Islands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A short visit to the Bay of Islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On a motoring tour of New Zealand in April, we headed north of Auckland to the Bay of Islands for a couple of days. We decided to stay in Paihia, as it was a convenient base from which to cover this most scenic of areas, such as Russell and Waitaki. We chose to stay at the Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel. Booking in for 2 nights to a front facing room overlooking the Bay, we found this Lodge to be very comfortable, spotlessly clean, well appointed and excellent value for the quality it offered. Run by charming and very helpful proprietors, we had a good range of restaurants nearby, within a short walk. One restaurant deserving a mention, was the one on the pier, offering lovely fresh seafood reasonably priced.

Room Tip: A view of the Bay is worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    45
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
100
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were greeted after a long drive through a rainstorm by a very friendly, host, Phil, who could not do enough for us. We immediately began to feel better. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and everything we could need was in place. The apartment was comfortable and the undercover parking was a bonus in the rain and would be good in the height of summer to keep the car cool. Our only slight issue was the room smelt a little musty - but it was winter and it had probably been closed up for a while. This soon cleared after we had been in for a little while. The washing and drying facilities were excellent and it is ideally situated within Paihia. As it is very slightly away from the centre, it would probably be a little less noisy than some properties in the height of summer. .We would have no hesitation in recommending The Swiss Chalet to friends and would happily return ourselves.

Room Tip: Room 2 was good, just at the top of the stairs. There is no swimming pool or restaurant, but the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We found Maureen and Phil to be wonderful hosts , very helpful with what to go and where eat our room was upgraded so that was a nice treat . Room was clean and cosy with a beautiful view of the bay .We found the Swiss Chalet to be very good value for money if we come to the bay of islands we would stay here again .... Fiona Josie and Leesa (the Aussie girls )

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was great to have you here and we enjoyed the fact that we could upgrade you. I know that you all had fun and we would love to see you again, all the best from Maureen and Phil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely room, a little older style but very comfortable and large. Balcony off room, admittedly shared by others but sunny never the less. There was some noise from the family upstairs but all was quiet by the time we went to sleep.Nice owners, fantastic location in the heart of town and a reasonable tariff. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We were at the front so we had a smidgen of a view. I suppose if you could get a top floor room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our motel. We love having people from all over the world enjoying their time in Paihia. You are right we are in a great location, just a short stroll to the wharf to take the cruises around the bay and also 5 minutes to the local eateries (including Greens Thai and Indian Restaurant). It was lovely to have you stay with us and hopefully we get to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Maureen and Phil. The cleanest motel we have ever stayed in, it shone! They were very hospitable and gave us lots of advice on where to go and what to see, made our stay that much more relaxed and we got to see a lot in our two days. Close to all amenities, would not hesitate to recommend their motel, and we would certainly stay there again.
Kim and Woody

Room Tip: We had higher floor on corner, so had views of the sea, and the sun came into our room. Do not know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We chose this motel for it's location, and with the time we had, we wanted something a little more upmarket. It is run on a very relaxed, but at the same time efficient basis. We had a small problem, caused by other guests, which was quickly solved and we settled into a gentle time there with good advice on making the most of our time always on offer.

It was a plus for us to have the owners on site, one feels more in touch with life!
Finally it was difficult to leave our temporary "home".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Receptionist gave us a wrong information. Room was so messy. Spa was nt in room. It was a public spa n nt hygenic. Rooms were nt sound proff. Ceiling of the room was so old. No paint in room. Paid for 2nights bt left motel in 1night. They didnt even refund

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As you have written this review about your stay October 2012 (8 months ago) I can not recall you staying with us and I know that we would have tried to make your stay enjoyable. We have never told people that there is a spa in our studio rooms (as owners we run our motel and do not have other reception staff). We do have a lovely private spa pool in the motel complex which is maintained by an expert spa pool maintenance company - I can assure you the spa pool is extremely hygenic.
Our units are a unique "Swiss Chalet" design with tongue and groove wood oil-stained ceilings which are not intended to be painted, the rest of the unit has painted walls etc. I think you may have mistaken our motel for somewhere else.
We and our housekeeping staff take great pride in keeping our rooms spotless as you can see from our other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.