We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and friendly place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spacious and friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the owners really friendly and helpful, the location perfect and the accommodation spacious and comfortable. It was good having access to a balcony outside our room (but note it is just down the road to the sea so no sea view). Our bathroom had a "slipper" bath (small bath) with a shower over in which a small person could have a bath or anyone could have a roomy shower! There was access to a washer and dryer for guests which was really helpful. The room was a little musty when it had been shut up during the day but opening doors and windows on return soon made it fresh again. The owners helped book a great boat trip for us - and it is 5 minute stroll to the pier to pick up the boat trip which made the morning boat trip option more attractive! It is a few minutes walk from plenty of eateries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    51
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
107
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you want a very convenient location just back from the shops and activities at the waterfront, good facilities that are well maintained and hosts that go well out of their way without being intrusive to ensure that you will enjoy every minute and aspect of your stay, this is the place to be! My wife and I stayed here at the end of Feb 2013 and without any doubt thought it was excellent.
We were ending our three and a half week tour of the North Island having visited a number of decent motels and five star hotels but our stay at the Swiss Chalet Motor Lodge was the tops because beyond the location and well-presented accommodation it had the ingredient of exceptionally good hospitality that made our five night stay special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Fantastic location and rooms very comfortable. Best part was that Maureen and Phil were so helpful and are just thoroughly lovely people. They couldn't do enough to make sure our time in Paihia was extra special. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The motel was much nicer than the photos as I was worried that it would be old fashioned based on the photos, but although it did look like a Swiss chalet it was beautifully painted and maintained and quite charming with lovely flowers. The hosts were nice, the room was very spacious with a queen bed and a single bed, and the kitchen facilities were adequate for a short stay. We opted to not have any cleaning done as we were only there 2 days so didn't tidy up when we went out but when we returned the room had been cleaned anyway and we had lots of new towels. We could park undercover, and it is a short walk to the shops and restaurants and beachfront. Good value, good location, and very comfortable so we were glad we hadn't gone for the more 'glamorous' newer motels in the town as I don't think they would have been any better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Maureen & Phil are fantastic Host's, I've stayed with them many times over the year's, they are always so warm & welcoming. The Motel is in a great location! Only a short walk to all restaurants, wharf & shops. The rooms are very clean, spacious & the beds are really comfortable! I would highly recommend the Swiss Chalet Motel, I'll Definatley be back!!
Gretchen Snaddon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you know we are always on our toes looking after our guests. We are so close to the wharf and the shops that people don't need to get in their car during their stay. We would love to have you back again Gretchen anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights the hosts are very helpful in advising and booking things for you. The motel is in an excellent position just off main road it's clean and immaculately kept with all mod cons, including laundry facilities and hot tub. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Maureen and Phil

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in twin share accommodation - it was definitely great service, good value and a comfortable and relaxing stay. The best in its price range - better than most other motels we stayed at during our trip. Even for travellers in a higher price bracket, i would recommend it. The hosts were friendly and helpful, assisting us in booking day trips, recommending restaurants, lending us a DVD player etc. There is attention to detail in the service, with everything you need, done nicely. Also a very good location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.