We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Bay of Islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Bay of Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The motel was much nicer than the photos as I was worried that it would be old fashioned based on the photos, but although it did look like a Swiss chalet it was beautifully painted and maintained and quite charming with lovely flowers. The hosts were nice, the room was very spacious with a queen bed and a single bed, and the kitchen facilities were adequate for a short stay. We opted to not have any cleaning done as we were only there 2 days so didn't tidy up when we went out but when we returned the room had been cleaned anyway and we had lots of new towels. We could park undercover, and it is a short walk to the shops and restaurants and beachfront. Good value, good location, and very comfortable so we were glad we hadn't gone for the more 'glamorous' newer motels in the town as I don't think they would have been any better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    46
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
103
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Maureen & Phil are fantastic Host's, I've stayed with them many times over the year's, they are always so warm & welcoming. The Motel is in a great location! Only a short walk to all restaurants, wharf & shops. The rooms are very clean, spacious & the beds are really comfortable! I would highly recommend the Swiss Chalet Motel, I'll Definatley be back!!
Gretchen Snaddon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you know we are always on our toes looking after our guests. We are so close to the wharf and the shops that people don't need to get in their car during their stay. We would love to have you back again Gretchen anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights the hosts are very helpful in advising and booking things for you. The motel is in an excellent position just off main road it's clean and immaculately kept with all mod cons, including laundry facilities and hot tub. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Maureen and Phil

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in twin share accommodation - it was definitely great service, good value and a comfortable and relaxing stay. The best in its price range - better than most other motels we stayed at during our trip. Even for travellers in a higher price bracket, i would recommend it. The hosts were friendly and helpful, assisting us in booking day trips, recommending restaurants, lending us a DVD player etc. There is attention to detail in the service, with everything you need, done nicely. Also a very good location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I chose this motel because all the praise here from other travellers, and I had to say I`m very glad I did. This motel isn`t maybe the most sumptuoys of all, but it has something better. It`s warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, thanks to Phil and Maureen. Definitely recommended. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely owner/operators, very friendly and helpful, good location on a side street off the main road.
It's nothing flash, quite dated. I wouldn't stay here again as we thought it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Maureen & Phil are Fantastic Hosts. Our Stay at Swiss Chalet this summer was Fantastic. With its beautiful Gardens and best of locations in Paihia, Swiss Chalet will be our first pick on our next Paihia visit.

The Ferry and shopping/restaurants are so close that it was a No brainer for our family .. and we are so glad we did! It Truly felt like our home away from home for the week..
Thanks Phil and Maureen, We didn't want to leave!!!!! . see you on our next trip up North.. Brett & Family, Auckland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.