We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel, I'll Definatley Be Back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% DISCOUNT-BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic Motel, I'll Definatley Be Back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Maureen & Phil are fantastic Host's, I've stayed with them many times over the year's, they are always so warm & welcoming. The Motel is in a great location! Only a short walk to all restaurants, wharf & shops. The rooms are very clean, spacious & the beds are really comfortable! I would highly recommend the Swiss Chalet Motel, I'll Definatley be back!!
Gretchen Snaddon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As you know we are always on our toes looking after our guests. We are so close to the wharf and the shops that people don't need to get in their car during their stay. We would love to have you back again Gretchen anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    49
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
104
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights the hosts are very helpful in advising and booking things for you. The motel is in an excellent position just off main road it's clean and immaculately kept with all mod cons, including laundry facilities and hot tub. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks Maureen and Phil

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in twin share accommodation - it was definitely great service, good value and a comfortable and relaxing stay. The best in its price range - better than most other motels we stayed at during our trip. Even for travellers in a higher price bracket, i would recommend it. The hosts were friendly and helpful, assisting us in booking day trips, recommending restaurants, lending us a DVD player etc. There is attention to detail in the service, with everything you need, done nicely. Also a very good location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I chose this motel because all the praise here from other travellers, and I had to say I`m very glad I did. This motel isn`t maybe the most sumptuoys of all, but it has something better. It`s warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, thanks to Phil and Maureen. Definitely recommended. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely owner/operators, very friendly and helpful, good location on a side street off the main road.
It's nothing flash, quite dated. I wouldn't stay here again as we thought it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Maureen & Phil are Fantastic Hosts. Our Stay at Swiss Chalet this summer was Fantastic. With its beautiful Gardens and best of locations in Paihia, Swiss Chalet will be our first pick on our next Paihia visit.

The Ferry and shopping/restaurants are so close that it was a No brainer for our family .. and we are so glad we did! It Truly felt like our home away from home for the week..
Thanks Phil and Maureen, We didn't want to leave!!!!! . see you on our next trip up North.. Brett & Family, Auckland

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very nice place to stay. The room is always clean and used towels are replaced daily. Tea and coffee facility and a kitchenette is available. The hosts - Phil and Maureen - are very friendly and helpful.

The weather was terrible during our first 3 days with rain on and off but we still tried go to as many attractions we could go to. It is very good that Swiss Chalet has under cover car parking that we did not get wet getting in and out of the car and the motel. Even the reception area is accessible from the undercover parking.

Our room has sea view so even with bad weather, the view was still great.

It is 100 metres away to the Reef Restaurant at Kingsgate Hotel which is a very nice restaurant serving buffet dinner. The place is less than 200 metres away from the Paihia mall.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room 2 which is on the first floor has a view of the sea. When you book, ask the host - Maure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paihia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.