We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% DISCOUNT-BOOK DIRECT
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved it here so much, it was our home from home and had everything we needed! Our 4 nights stay ended up as 7. Hosts Phil and Maureen were so friendly, welcoming & helpful and had lots of suggestions for places to visit and booked trips for us during our stay. The room was light and spacious and had plenty of drawer & wardrobe space to unpack. Beds were comfy, towels fluffy & tea & coffee etc replenished daily. If required there is nice fast wireless internet access. The location is spot on, only a few hundred meters from the sea with a lovely beach walk from one end of Paihia to the other. Unlike some of the accommodation in Paihia, Swiss Chalet is situated with level walks to the sea and town, no hills to navigate after a long day sight-seeing!! Try to spend some time in Paihia. It's a lovely little town worth exploring with a variety of shops & eateries within walking distance. It also has a couple of places to buy proper NZ ice-cream!! This really is a fab place to stay, we only hope we find places half as nice as this for the rest of our travels!! :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We just love having visitors from New Zealand and from all over the world to Paihia and we endeavour to look after everyone. We are proud of the lovely Bay of Islands so we do try to help people enjoy the area as we do. Being so handy to everything does make a very convenient place to stay. We have just upgraded our WiFi system so that everyone in the motel gets really fast internet service. We would love to have you come back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
107
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. We could not fault the Swiss Chalet at all. Our accommodation was 1st Class, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. Maureen and Phil could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had originally booked to stay 3 nights but extended our visit to 5 nights as we enjoyed staying here so much. We are seasoned travellers and we agree this is one of our favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remetschwil
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hosts, Maureen and Phil are lovely, welcoming and friendly people! The rooms come with kitchenette, basic toiletries, tea, coffee and fresh milk, very welcome after a longish drive! The rooms are very clean and comfortable, with 1980s decor. Excellent location, only 1 minute walk to the seafront, 5 minute walk to the centre if Paihia and the harbour for getting boat trips and the ferry to Russell and only a lovely 30 min beach/seafront walk to the Treaty grounds at Waitangi. Good value for money, very friendly, what more can a tourist wish for!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at Phil and Maureen's Swiss Chalet earlier this week for 3 nights. These guys are the leaders of the pack..exceptional warm, friendly service. Make sure you go to at least 1 or 2 of Phils recommendation for a meal, we went to a local winery fabulous he also recommended the Thai 3 minutes walk away they were fully booked as it was Saturday night but we enjoyed takeaway in our room and it was lovely we could see the bay while eating dinner. Phil booked us on a tour with in 30 minutes of it departing lucky the chalet is only a 3 minute walk to the wharf. Be warned parking in town/wharf area is a nightmare-another star for the chalet location perfect for walking everywhere. They had a cancellation on the day after we arrived and Maureen was so lovely and moved us to a bigger room which meant more work for her, this is just another example of the level of service these two provide. While we were out exploring an elf aka Maureen would come in and straighten up our room so nice to come "home" after a long day to a fresh room. If you are planning on cooking a few meals in your room the family suite is perfect, the kitchen is well equipped with everything you will need for frying, boiling, micro waving, toasting etc all the utensil are in good condition and spotlessly clean. I ditto what all the other reviewers have said great place to stay-thanks for having us Phil and Maureen

Room Tip: Family rooms great queen bed and to singles in separate room big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitzi51, Owner at Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We pride ourselves on our customer service so it is nice to be appreciated. You are right, being in the centre of Paihia makes it easier for people going on to do their excursions - just leave your car with us and walk everywhere. It was lovely to have you stay with us and we hope that you might come back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Swiss chalet for two nights and left wishing we had more time there, the hosts were warm welcoming and charming, the motel was a pleasure to live in well maintained with small unique touches that spoke of the care that Phil and Maureen take to make us comfortable,the room was well furnished and had all the necessary amenities we would recommend this motel to all travellers and as we checked out this motel on trip advisor before booking a big thank u here

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just spent four nights at the Swiss Chalet Motel where we were very comfortable in our Studio accommodation. It was well laid out and complete with everything we needed for our stay. One small point from my wife is that there was not a mirror close to an electrical socket for the use of hair tongs.
Hosts were welcoming and happy to arrange trips for us. The location is just great being one minute from the beach and three minutes to the town centre while being in a quiet setting.
The onsite parking and the balconies catching the morning sun were well thought out.
On one of the nights we ate out at the Swiss Cafe & Grill, on the main road overlooking the bay, where we had a first class meal - the lamb cooked to perfection just melted in the mouth

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bris, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First we tried in town and after 2 minutes speaking to the owner knew we had to stay there. Clean, spacious, well appointed room. Owner told us everything we needed to know and we could walk to all his recommendations. When informed we wanted sea food he definitely showed us the best place in town and made us aware of places we had not thought about, especially Waitangi a most significant symbol of the New Zealand that is today and wonderful museum understated by it's simplicity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel

Address: 3 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the ultimate 4-star motel accommodation in the beautiful Bay of Islands, New Zealand. Our modern, fully self-contained units sleep 1-10 people, have balconies, some with stunning sea views and are only metres from Paihia waterfront. The prime central location places you within 1 minute's walk from Paihia wharf, beach, shops and cafes. The many exciting attractions and activities on offer around the Bay are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel
Swiss Chalet Motel
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.