We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodations, view and location all excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Motel

Austria Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Motel to your Saves list
Austria Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   36 Selwyn Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Chula Vista, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Accommodations, view and location all excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I spent one night in the "Deluxe Studio". The room is VERY spacious and comfortable. It was an end unit with a large 2-sided balcony. It is located on the second floor, accessed by stairs (only) and car parking (free) underneath. The unit was spotless. There is a queen bed with a comfortable mattress, 2 large recliner chairs, desk, shower with small "tub", flat screen TV with 9 channels, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, hairdryer, and free Wi-Fi up to 10MB/day (sufficient for email). It is within a short walking distance of restaurants. Pictures on their website accurately show the unit. The owner was extremely helpful. Her restaurant recommendation was a great choice: not fancy, but very good food at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Owner at Austria Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for lovely review. Just one thing we give 100MB vouchers and these are available as many as one needs each day or we give a 1 KB if people want a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March. We hadn't pre-booked anything so we just drove along the streets looking at the motels. Austria motel caught our eye as it had good street appeal. The motel is one street back from the waterfront and only a few minutes walk to all the facilities of Paihia. The rooms are one level off the ground with your car parked undercover below the rooms. The rooms are well appointed, clean, comfortable and quite roomy. A small but very functional kitchen is provided with microwave, fridge, hot plates and all the usual crockery and cutlery. The bathroom is clean and modern. The room has a large comfortable bed, a table, chairs and a balcony is provided. Being one level off the ground gave us nice breezes. Wi-Fi is free, and a guest laundry is available. The managers are very friendly and helpful .We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great place to stay, we were there for 12 nights and it was not long enough, Our room was excellent, quiet, spotless, very comfortable. Heather & Laurie are so friendly there is no way anyone could not enjoy their stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We received a warm welcome at the Austria Motel and some helpful advice about local eateries etc. The hosts are very friendly and obliging, happy to go the extra mile to fulfill our requests. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean room, trouble-free WIFI and easy walking distance to all amenities. Under cover parking provided free. We were spoiled for choice with local restaurants - could have dinner and a few drinks with an easy stroll "home". The motel kitchen was well equipped too if we'd chosen to eat in. Good to see the eco friendly measures in place also. We certainly recommend this motel for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a large deck in addition to the smaller side deck. Great for a cool drink at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2-bedroom unit. Staff were friendly. Premises were clean and pleasant. The room had a great view of the bay and there was a balcony big enough for the four of us to sit in as well. Wifi worked well. Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants but at the same time quite private and not noisy. Covered parking off-street was a bonus. Excellent value for money, one of the cheaper places in the vicinity. I will be trying to book there first if I go back to Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andamos_bien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was our third time in Paihia but our first at Austria Motel and I must say "we missed out on the other two occasions". It suited our needs perfectly, large clean bright units with a small kitchenette, bathroom with shower over a "shub" (very small bath). TV, two recliner chairs, table and chairs, sleeps 3. Plus a balcony with table and chairs. There is also a car park space underneath and out of the sun. Suitcases carried to our room, tea, coffee, milk, iron, hairdryer, microwave, fan and a laundry for our use. All this slap bang in the middle of Paihia but also very quiet. We will stay here again and I urge you to consider to doing so as well.

Room Tip: All have balconys but the front one as two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We love staying here, so close to shops and ferry building. The owners are very friendly and always offer to carry our bags to the room. The units themselves are always spotlessly clean and spacious with lots of light. So all in all every stay (we have stayed 3 times) is comfortable and we feel good value for our money and with the motel being one street back from the main road it is quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#24 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.2 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#30 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alfa Boutique Motel
Alfa Boutique Motel
#33 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Motel

Address: 36 Selwyn Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austria Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run motel. Units are self-contained, serviced daily and are very spacious with Sky TV and queen size beds. All with balconies that get the afternoon sun. We are in central Paihia, one street back from the busy main road, about 90 metres from the restaurants and wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Austria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing