We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Loved it "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Motel

Austria Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Motel to your Saves list
Austria Motel
36 Selwyn Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“" Loved it "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great place to stay, we were there for 12 nights and it was not long enough, Our room was excellent, quiet, spotless, very comfortable. Heather & Laurie are so friendly there is no way anyone could not enjoy their stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We received a warm welcome at the Austria Motel and some helpful advice about local eateries etc. The hosts are very friendly and obliging, happy to go the extra mile to fulfill our requests. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean room, trouble-free WIFI and easy walking distance to all amenities. Under cover parking provided free. We were spoiled for choice with local restaurants - could have dinner and a few drinks with an easy stroll "home". The motel kitchen was well equipped too if we'd chosen to eat in. Good to see the eco friendly measures in place also. We certainly recommend this motel for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a large deck in addition to the smaller side deck. Great for a cool drink at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the 2-bedroom unit. Staff were friendly. Premises were clean and pleasant. The room had a great view of the bay and there was a balcony big enough for the four of us to sit in as well. Wifi worked well. Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants but at the same time quite private and not noisy. Covered parking off-street was a bonus. Excellent value for money, one of the cheaper places in the vicinity. I will be trying to book there first if I go back to Paihia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It was our third time in Paihia but our first at Austria Motel and I must say "we missed out on the other two occasions". It suited our needs perfectly, large clean bright units with a small kitchenette, bathroom with shower over a "shub" (very small bath). TV, two recliner chairs, table and chairs, sleeps 3. Plus a balcony with table and chairs. There is also a car park space underneath and out of the sun. Suitcases carried to our room, tea, coffee, milk, iron, hairdryer, microwave, fan and a laundry for our use. All this slap bang in the middle of Paihia but also very quiet. We will stay here again and I urge you to consider to doing so as well.

Room Tip: All have balconys but the front one as two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We love staying here, so close to shops and ferry building. The owners are very friendly and always offer to carry our bags to the room. The units themselves are always spotlessly clean and spacious with lots of light. So all in all every stay (we have stayed 3 times) is comfortable and we feel good value for our money and with the motel being one street back from the main road it is quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

A great motel.. Only few metres walk to a large ange of restaurants, shops and ferry trips. Rooms very clean, large and light and airy. The owners make you feel very welcome, even carrying our bags to our room.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Unit 1 at the end of blok with a large balcony. Unit 7 has 2 b/rooms, private balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Walked in off the street looking for two rooms. The owner greeted us and showed the two rooms which were good. Very friendly welcome with a lot of info provided. Both rooms clean and fresh, linen towels good but no heating. Electric fans had to be plugged in.
The following morning the owner allowed us to park for the day at no charge

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Motel

Address: 36 Selwyn Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run motel. Units are self-contained, serviced daily and are very spacious with Sky TV and queen size beds. All with balconies that get the afternoon sun. We are in central Paihia, one street back from the busy main road, about 90 metres from the restaurants and wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Austria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.