We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and in quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Seaview Resort Motel

Save Saved
You added Aloha Seaview Resort Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
36 Seaview Rd., Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Lustenau, Austria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Family friendly and in quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's one of the only few motels situated not at the main road, I believe the only one that is enough isolated to give you feeling of being in the nature, in peace and quiet. The same time it's only 15min walk to the beach front in Paihia.
W had initially booked 1br garden apartment. It was situated in the ground floor of the separate building, the one most to the south. 2 units downstairs and owners apartment upstairs gave a feeling of privacy. In front of the door was lovely wooden patio and rolling down hill so we had unobstructed view of the bay. Kitchen, dining and living area are spacious, bedroom had queen and single bed, small desk and closet. Bathroom was small with separate toilet and curtain shower, adequate for us. What made us completely puzzled where two separate faucets for cold and hot water but apparently this is very common in New Zealand. The only downside was a kitchen. We cook a lot ourselves and usually have plenty of bottles , bags, etc, like with running full kitchen. Unfortunately there were only 2 drawers and the 3 cabinets already filed with cutlery and utensils, very difficult to storage anything. And of course again 2 faucets:-)
After 3 days we changed the room to 2bedrooms on the 1st floor, overlooking swimming pool. This was bigger apartment and except second bedroom is had bigger bathroom with walk in shower, kitchen counter was longer and we had terrace with another table and chairs. But despite kitchen being a bit bigger there was even less storage space. The good thing was much bigger fridge and modern combine hot-cold water faucet.
The pool is a decent size for splashing and short swims, with BBQ next to and sun-chairs to lie down on. The owners are very nice and willing to book tours for you or tell you more about attractions. The only minus of our stay was the price, it was over the Christmas and New Year and the price for the 2br apartment was very high. But maybe it's normal in Paihia.
Overall- highly recommended for those who are not keen on being squeezed in the middle of busy beach town but still want to be in few minutes distance from it. Very good for families.
Suggestion for owners- please do something about the kitchen storage space.

Room Tip: Ask for garden ground floor in a south building if younneed no more than 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in December and had a great time.
Cosy little hotel with all amenities.
Very nice hosts, clean and warm pool, hot tub to relax, and fully equipped rooms.
Not as loud and crowded as the oceanside hotels.
Perfect starting point for all walks in the area.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fantastic time by the pool nice clean rooms, great spa pool bbq, and friendly hosts. Best place to stay in the BOI easy walk to the town plenty space and a playground for the kids. Went to a party in the function room all went smoothly

Room Tip: the upper rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you don't stay here you've missed out big time! We spent the first evening sitting on our balcony 'gobsmacked' at the view and sunset. Fractionally outside Paiha (10 mins downhill - slightly longer coming home!) it is lovely and quiet so a good nights sleep is ensured (only bush behind) We had a large studio that lacked nothing with a separate bedroom with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space so you could properly unpack. There is a lovely swimming pool, hot tub, laundry facilities, games room and plenty car parking. Stacy and Jason were the very best of hosts, we only wish we were likely to be able to stay again. Happy birthday Stacy.

Room Tip: Upstairs certainly gets the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our 3 children perfect 2 bedroom room 3 singles in one room queen in the other. Lovely host (Jan I think) was "motel-sitting" while her son was on holiday and could not have been more helpful. We had a lovely time although quite noisy being on the ground floor it sounded like elephants were upstairs! Kids loved the free wireless!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Islands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Due to a forecasted storm, my partner and I had to seek out an alternative venue to our home, for the reception of our imminent wedding. We only had four days to go for the wedding when I desperately contacted proprietors Stacey and Jason for help.
Luckily their conference and function facility was vacant for that date and they immediateley offered us carte blanche access to organise the wedding in their under-cover facilities.
Not only did they go out of their way to accommodate us but they also said that if the storm didn't materialise and we were able to have the wedding in the open at home, then there would be no charge...not even a booking deposit.
We did use Aloha's venue and our caterers were able to switch the planned reception with no hitches. All guests said what a great day it had been and how well The Aloha had rescued the event for us.
Flexibility and customer care are all you can ask for in an hospitality business. Jason and Stacey excell at both. Their easy going management style and 'can do' attitude should bring them well deserved patronage.
Best wishes from Mike and Kerry

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Beautiful place,
Excellent views and location
Fantastic spotlessly clean rooms
(ours had a balcony with table and chairs so we could eat and watch the sunset)
Lovely helpful staff
Wonderful swimming pool and spa
Games room with free internet access
Children's playground
Thank you - wanted to stay foreverer

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloha Seaview Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Seaview Resort Motel

Address: 36 Seaview Rd., Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A safe family friendly holiday destination. Quiet, relaxing motel accommodation with magic views. Nestled in 2 hectares of landscaped gardens and native bush, away from the noise of Paihia but close enough to enjoy the many beaches, unique activities, shops and cafes Paihia has to offer. Studio, 1 and 2-bedroom fully self-contained apartments are available at Aloha Seaview Resort Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Aloha Seaview Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Seaview Hotel Paihia
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Seaview Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.