We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average price and average looking motel. Good for a quiet base for a busy holiday.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Edelweiss Motel to your Saves list
Edelweiss Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Unlimited Free WIFI
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An average price and average looking motel. Good for a quiet base for a busy holiday.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had booked into a studio room which was advertised as having a kitchenette. It did not as far as I am concerned. There was a tiny area at the back of this tiny room that had a snmall fridge under the small bench top and 2 shelves above. To make a coffee we had to get waer from the bathroom basin (which opened right beside this tiny bench area- yuk!) and then we were expected to do the dishes in the bathroom basin. Double yuk. This is not what I would call a kitchenette. We spent one claustrophobic night in this room then upgraded (at a cost) to a larger unit.
This one had a proper kitchen area and you could atleast "swing a cat". This was a nice tidily decorated room.
Staff were willing to accommodate our need to move rooms - very fortunate considering the busy time of year.
The pool area was nice. A bit run down in this area but well maintained.
Location is great. Just a quick walk (50 metres at most) to the main street and beach. Close to some eateries and shops.
Good parking outside the unit. I would recommend to the budget minded traveller as a clean and tidy place to stay in the generally expensive Paihia area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Having researched many of Paihia's motels to find a regular stopover point I've been using the Edelweiss for about 3 months. When one considers the prices demanded by some of Paihia's motels the Edelweiss presents great value for money.

I've found the rooms to be spotless every time I've stayed with about eveything you could need for a short stay, including a well equipped kitchenette. At the end of a long day on the road the swimming pool has been an absolute boon and has proven a great a great place to unwind.

Trish and Jim are great hosts and their friendly service and warm welcome always enhances my stays with them.

I'd highly recommend the Edelweiss to anyone looking for a comfortable, inexpensive bases for a day or two in the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We booked through lastminute.com a good 2 months ahead for a double room . When we arrived we were told sorry you have single beds and some excuse for the price we paid on the booking which was $120 a night! Not that cheap really. The room smelt of those toilet tablets they use in schools although it was clean but very small! We were also told that for the next night we would have to move to another room. It was slightly larger but a pain to have to pack up again- we were not at all happy. The good point was the location makes it is very accessible to the township

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Great bed, maintained very well, nice people, handy for everything but just off the beaten track, only fault really is the lack of interesting TV channels (an oxymoron?) but otherwise all you need. And real coffee for the plunger! 100 points!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

A wonderful and relaxed motel located a short walk from the beach and some nice restaurants. It is a great location for exploring all the great sights in Bay of islands. The room was self contained and the equipment seemed almost unused, overall it felt very tidy and clean! The small heated pool was much appreciated even if we did not use it as much as we had thought.

Staff were very welcoming and helpful, along with the relaxed atmosphere and the breathtaking views of the Bay of Islands, it was really easy to feel at home here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Me, my partner, dad and borther all stayed at the Edelweiss motel for a weekend a few weeks ago. For us the accomodation option of 1 dubble brm and 2 singles in the lounge was a great and affordable option. The unit was provided with a modern kitchenette which meant that we could save money on eating in and keep our beers cold for when we got home after a long day of activities that the area provides for. We were all welcomed with a smile and had super friendly service all the way through our stay. The heated pool was a favorite by the older crowd and by only having 2 minute walk to a beautiful beach I went for a refreshing wake up swim every morning. Short walk to bars restaurants and ferrys - but with no noise and peaceful setting. What more can you want? Highly recoment this spot for all you travellers out there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Motel in good location for exploring Paihia and Bay of Islands. A little disappointed with the motel room and glad we didn't have a cat to swing ! Owners could not have been more helpful or friendly. Glad we were moving on after a couple of days.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and free unlimited in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 3.5*. Proud members of Host Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.