We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Edelweiss Motel to your Saves list
Edelweiss Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   70 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
NZ Northland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Winter Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great motel, lovely couple running the place. Although the pool is heated it was probably a bit too cold to use at 26 degrees, and outside temp of about 15.
Were informed the spa pool was not hot either so did not venture.
Motels rooms very clean, lots of towels, good space. First nite we had 3 adults and 3 children so had a 2 bdrm unit with kichen/lounge/toilet/shower upstairs, 2 rms and toilet downstairs. Family stayed 1 nite then 2 adults stayed on 1 more nite in same unit for studio price, which was nice. Good free wifi. Location good, flat easy walk to town centre,or short 2 min drive. Ate out at Jimmy Jacks, they have the best spare ribs ever! Go early or book a table cos they seem to always be busy.

Room Tip: I rang and booked our room, which the lady wad helpful in describing what would suit our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hi Hinukoa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your wonderful feedback.
Due to the storm we had to conserve water so unfortunately the spa pool was out of action.
We do take pride in the cleanliness of our units as you mentioned and we are pleased you had enough space for your family.
I agree with you Jimmy Jacks does have the best Spare Ribs ever.
Hopefully we can host you again sometime in the future.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
46
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My spa suite was wonderful, very comfortable and clean. Jim and Trish were very kind and helpful when I had to stay an extra 3 nights because of bad weather, they really went the extra mile and even offered to drive me to Whangarei, although fortunately I was then able to leave on public transport. The motel is located an easy walk into town and close to the start of the coastal walkway. Would highly recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: The spa suite was excellent value, very comfortable and quiet with its own private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Hazel,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property and your kind comments. It certainly was a trying time for you and other guests to get back home after the storm caused mayhem with our roads.
Hopefully you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Thank you for your recommendation

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at Edelweiss motel during the big storm in the far North. The room was clean, with 1 bedroom the unit was plenty of room for 2. Basic kitchen facilities and a good location on the edge of town, staff were very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property and your comments.
Wow that was a pretty big storm!! Thank goodness things are getting back to normal.

Hopefully you will visit us again and enjoy Paihia in its normal beauty.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Centrally located, easy and pleasant walk into town. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and I thought it was charming that they had a little 'swap a book' library where my son was thrilled to find a copy of a book he had recently lost before finishing. We chose this place for location and the pool and it certainly ticks the boxes in that regard. My only real gripe, which is in no way the fault of the property owners / managers was the noise both nights of our stay from the nearby backpackers place which went on until very late at night. We stayed on the weekend though so this is probably not an issue during the week. This would probably be an issue for any motel in this central area, though the Edelweiss rooms are right opposite the backpackers. There was a group of us staying all who made the same comment about the noise. If you are into late night entertainment, this probably will not bother you, but if you need an early night (as we did) it could be an issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and your feedback.
We are pleased you enjoyed our units and facilities and glad that your son found the book in our library.
We do apologise for the noise and we are working on this situation.
Hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a great time. Edelweiss motel was a friendly and lovely place to stay. very clean and very helpful we will stay again next time we are in Paihia. we were close to everything and we had a amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Tashadaisy,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you again sometime in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was lucky to come across Edelweiss Motel on Wotif. The rooms at Edelweiss Motel were basic but clean and spacious. The rooms have a small kitchenette with basic facilities. The motel has a swimming pool and access to tennis courts. They even offer free wifi to all guests. The staff is very friendly and I would highly recommend Edelweiss Motel to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Hi Wrishy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are delighted you enjoyed our clean spacious rooms and our facilities.
Many thanks for your recommendation to other travellers.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed there only for one night but it was a gud relaxing stay! The ladies at the reception were very friendly:) Our standard double bed room had all basic facilities and was very clean and neat! Bathrooms were spacious and absolutely clean. Surely recommendable:)
Vidhi Jain

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Dr Vidhi Jain,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and your wonderful comments.

We are pleased you had a relaxing stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edelweiss Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and free unlimited in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 3.5*. Proud members of Host Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.