We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Save Saved
You added Edelweiss Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Edelweiss Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Whangarei
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This motel beats the more glamorous and high profiled motels in value and customer service. You get more for your money with the generously stocked kitchen, large spa bath, comfortable and well set out rooms. I would definitely recommend to others having a weekend away. The only thing I felt could be improved is maybe a few more stations for television viewing and a token packet of shampoo & conditioner would be appreciated.Thank you Edelweiss Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Tarei B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We really do appreciate all your kind comments.
With regards to the Television stations this is a work in progress with digital TV arriving in December.
As for the Shampoo & Conditioner I am not sure what happened with that as we normally have all of our units equipped with these. We will certainly be re-checking our units.
We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you felt you had good value for your money.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were looking for a no hassles, more budget accomodation but it had to have a spa pool or bath. We found Edelweiss Motel to be clean, comfortable and close to town with a spa bath which was just what wanted. We enjoyed Tito's just around the corner for dinner and felt the rooms were quite big for the price. The only thing I felt could have been better was the television reception but as we weren't in that much it didn't really matter. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the room above the laundry and there was no adjoining rooms - it felt more private and was fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Jules B,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
With regards to the Television reception we are working on that now. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On arriving our hosts gave us a run down on the area and where we could locate different shops and resturants.They were easy people to talk to and willing to help where possible. The room was the right size for 2 of us and very clean. I will be booking again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Helen and Robert,
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

On a spare of the moment I decided to take my family on a weekend trip and after looking online we discovered Edelweiss Motel, It had everything we were looking for, a nice clean and modern room with a spa pool at least.

We booked our room and when we got there, it more than beat our expectations, the room was exactly as the website described, (which these days speaks alot) and our host was warm, friendly and accommodating.

We had a wonderful weekend, and I so recommend this motel

Room Tip: We got a room with a spa tub and found it relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Allen ,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, and many thanks for all your kind comments. We are so pleased we lived up to your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed your weekend with us.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahipara
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great location to shops etc and the venue for our event and excellent hosts. Rooms were ideal for the groups needs and we have stayed here before. Service from hosts are awesome can not thank Trish and Jim enough. The backpackers/bar that was a street over had an event on all weekend which was a little noisy at night for the families on the top level. Would stay again though :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are quieter if there is a big event at any of the bars in King street (the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Ahipari Swimming Club,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to hosting you for your next club champs.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

host very helpful studio no3 big enough for 2 people just around the corner from the main center still within walking distance a lovely cleaning lady from manchester did not use the pool looked very inviting host very helpful in our future travels in north island very clean excellent shower even so could be thinking about doing the same beth and tony

Room Tip: have enough room to move around without falling over one another space to but cases out oy the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Trish and Jim were perfect hosts. Unit was clean large and quiet. As I was only able to stay one night I did not have the time to have a dip in the inviting pool. I enjoyed the location with a lovely short walk to the beach. I certainly look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#23 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edelweiss Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 4*. Host Accommodation Group members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.