We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Save Saved
You added Edelweiss Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in this cozy and comfy motel. The owner could not have been nicer or more helpful. She was great about giving us information about the area, directions and times of various activities. Our room was immaculate and had a very nice bright,updated bathroom and well appointed kitchen. Another welcoming feature were the way the towels and tissues were so creatively displayed. No attention to our comfort went unnoticed. The beds had electric mattress pads to make us comfy and a wide screen TV to enjoy. It was a quiet, restful and highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
35
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Although the hotel staff was quite friendly, and the location is good, if you'd actually like to sleep before sometime in the early morning, go someplace else. there is a LOUD LATE NIGHT disco that pumps until ALL hours behind the motel (and I expect all others in the immediate area). It was horrifying to come back from dinner and hear an unrelenting thwump-thwump-thwump disco beat. ear plugs were no help. the room WAS clean, i'll give it that but the small studios are literally shoeboxes -- not bad for a quick layover but for anything longer you'll feel like you're in jail.

Room Tip: if you must stay here, get as close to the front as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. We find it hard to believe you and the guest reviewer below yours are talking about the same unit.
This unit is advertised as a small studio for the budget conscious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A warm welcome was given and with the information about the local area, we were ready to enjoy the different activities on offer. The room was very comfortable and clean. Although we were working to a budget, the extras provided helped to make our stay even more enjoyable. We would certainly recommend this motel to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you Jeanette for reviewing our property. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our hosts Trish and Jimmy couldn't have been more helpful in settling us in and helping us enjoy our time at their property. Nothing was too much trouble for them and with one of us not being able to move around a lot, the unit we had was perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much even though we had to cut it a little short because of my husband's illness. We would have like to try out the pool and spa - maybe next time.

We would thoroughly recommend the proerty to anyone wanting some peaceful surroundings but still being close enough to Paihia's shops, restaurants. and the ferry.

Room Tip: Unit 1 is very sunny and has plenty of room and doesn't seem to have much outside noise around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you Carol for reviewing our property and your kind comments and recommendation.
It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and such a shame you had to leave early due to illness but hopefully we will be able to host you again in the near future. Take care.
Kindest Regards
Trish and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My friend and I shared a spa room, and found the room well up to our expectations...spacious, clean,and nicely furnished.The motel is situated on the edge of town, and just a short walk to the beach and all conveniences. Jim and Trish were great hosts...so friendly and natural. Nothing was a bother to them, and all our requests were immediately attended to. My friend had recent surgery, so they made sure her bags were carried to the room etc, plus any lifts by car to the centre of town, were gladly organized. The weather wasn't the greatest, but the warm hospitality, made up for it !

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room with a balcony. It is nice to relax outside when the weather is sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our motel. We appreciate your comments and are delighted you enjoyed
your stay. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and hopefully we can host you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have been traveling to Pihia for many years after stay at other motels we find ourselves coming back to Edelweiss. Trish and Jimmy are great hosts, the units are always very clean and tidy. Wether we are on a family holiday or it is just the the two of us the units we book are suitable for the family holiday we book unit 9, we are always made to feel very welcome. the pool in the summer is great and the bbq area is an awesome spot if you don"t want to eat out. Being very close to the beach shops and ferry building makes the location fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: unit9 is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments Lesley. It is always a pleasure to have you all stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all in the near future.
Cheers
Trish & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I chose this motel specifically because it advertised a heated outdoor pool, an outdoor spa pool and a spa bath in the room.It was the middle of winter and we thought if the weather was bad we could still enjoy some warm water. Alas, the outdoor pool was too cold to swim in. What is the point in heating a pool to a temp that is still too cold to enjoy.Very disappointing. The outdoor spa pool was great though. But the spa bath ran out of hot water just as the waterlevel reached the jets.... Again very dissappointing. The water pressure in the shower was also dismal. Again, very disappointing. Noise from bars nearby kept us awake on friday and sat nights, the other nights it was quiet. I do recognise that this is beyond the control of the motel owner.... But how about providing complimentary ear plugs! I also thought the worn out nylon blankets were tacky and in need of replacment. Luckily we had a spare blanket with us as there wern't enough blankets on the bed. The small heater also needs replacing as it only had one setting, and we were having to continually turn it on and off. On the positive side the kitchen was well set up, the room was a comfortable size, everything was clean, and the cleaning woman was very friendly and helpful. The location was good... walking distance from everything. We did have a nice time but were somewhat disappointed and wouln't stay here again.

Room Tip: when you arrive in your room try the water pressure in the shower, check there are enough blankets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Naturally we are disappointed the reviewers were unhappy with some aspects of their stay.
In reply to some of their comments: The heated swimming pool is 28 degrees all year round and numerous guests enjoy it at this temperature.
The blankets including the extra one in the wardrobe are all in good condition with the one on the main bed being only 3 months old. If we had known you required more blankets we would have been more than happy to supply you with them.
All our rooms are supplied with fan heaters which have more than one setting and are in good working condition.
With regards to the water this is the first time this has been brought to our attention and we are attending to this. Thank you for bringing this matter up.
We do appreciate your comments but it would have been nice to have the opportunity to address your concerns while you were staying with us so we could make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edelweiss Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 4*. Host Accommodation Group members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.