We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edelweiss Motel

Save Saved
You added Edelweiss Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edelweiss Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“dissappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I chose this motel specifically because it advertised a heated outdoor pool, an outdoor spa pool and a spa bath in the room.It was the middle of winter and we thought if the weather was bad we could still enjoy some warm water. Alas, the outdoor pool was too cold to swim in. What is the point in heating a pool to a temp that is still too cold to enjoy.Very disappointing. The outdoor spa pool was great though. But the spa bath ran out of hot water just as the waterlevel reached the jets.... Again very dissappointing. The water pressure in the shower was also dismal. Again, very disappointing. Noise from bars nearby kept us awake on friday and sat nights, the other nights it was quiet. I do recognise that this is beyond the control of the motel owner.... But how about providing complimentary ear plugs! I also thought the worn out nylon blankets were tacky and in need of replacment. Luckily we had a spare blanket with us as there wern't enough blankets on the bed. The small heater also needs replacing as it only had one setting, and we were having to continually turn it on and off. On the positive side the kitchen was well set up, the room was a comfortable size, everything was clean, and the cleaning woman was very friendly and helpful. The location was good... walking distance from everything. We did have a nice time but were somewhat disappointed and wouln't stay here again.

Room Tip: when you arrive in your room try the water pressure in the shower, check there are enough blankets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Naturally we are disappointed the reviewers were unhappy with some aspects of their stay.
In reply to some of their comments: The heated swimming pool is 28 degrees all year round and numerous guests enjoy it at this temperature.
The blankets including the extra one in the wardrobe are all in good condition with the one on the main bed being only 3 months old. If we had known you required more blankets we would have been more than happy to supply you with them.
All our rooms are supplied with fan heaters which have more than one setting and are in good working condition.
With regards to the water this is the first time this has been brought to our attention and we are attending to this. Thank you for bringing this matter up.
We do appreciate your comments but it would have been nice to have the opportunity to address your concerns while you were staying with us so we could make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
35
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We liked:
- Location was quite convenient, just round the corner from the waterfront and within 5-10 minutes walk of the main shops and restaurants.

Not quite so sure:
- We booked one of their studio units, which is described on their website as "small". This is no exaggeration - no wardrobe, a microwave and kettle on some shelves in an alcove, no kitchen sink (so we had to use the bathroom basin to wash up) - it just felt cramped. We've stayed here before (in 2005) and must have had one of the larger units, which we thought were marvellous. I wouldn't go for the studio unit again.
- The manager didn't really seem to know what he was doing. We asked about the laundry service, and he vaguely waved us towards the room where they were located. Also, he didn't have any change for the machines. He mentioned arranging tours for us, but in the event spent half an hour trying to find the information when we actually asked about it. Again, the last time we were here, the service we got from Trish (the owner) was second to none, which was one of the reasons we booked this motel again.

Overall, we were quite disappointed with our stay here, given the high level of expectation we had from our previous stay in 2005.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked 4 rooms at this place,what a rip off,we paid much more than the rates advertised and the rooms downstairs (studio ones) is an old designed room,half of the things falling off,like windows,wires etc.$5 heater is in the room which works when it wants.The water stops when it wants as well and if you need to hang your clothes probably its designed 40 yrs back.Go the pools and sit in cold water,go to spa see sign out of order,ring reception they yell at you,says leave now if not happy.

Room Tip: Several other good places to choose from,this place only is money minded not service orientated,full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishandJim70, Manager at Edelweiss Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
This group was booked through an i-Site. Because of the group booking we gave them discounted prices of our rack rates. With regards to the pools, our heated swimming pool runs at 28 degrees and was operating at that temperature, much to the delight of our other guests. Due to excessive usage unfortunately we had to take our spa pool out of service as the water was not up to our quality standard. As for your other misleading comments, you can say whatever you wish unfortunately, we do not have the same flexibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great location for touring, really helpful and friendly staff, cleaned daily, pool is a bit small but refreshing, altogether an enjoyable experience.
Town itself is quite charming, good choice of restuarants and pubs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We (older couple) booked thru the always helpful i-site system and were very happy with the result. Our downstairs motel-room was large and had all the amenities includung wi-fi internet. Cooking facilities were not just tea and coffee making, so that if you were inclined you could self-cater your whole holiday.
At around NZ$100.- the value for money was fine - the furnishing and TV weren't flashy but adequate and the room had plenty of space to spread out.
Our Host was charming and helpful with tips on restaurants etc. The proximity, only short pleasant walk along the beach to town was great.
Can be recommended as a friendly, clean, central and nice place to holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needingworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We booked the Edelweiss through the I-site in Auckland, originally we were supposed to have a studio unit but on arrival we were given the choice of another unit with a downstairs bedroom which was much bigger and much more suitable. The unit was adequately furnished and clean with plenty of space. We used the pool and hot tub - which was nice - considering it was August, just a bit chilly. the laundry facilities were good, with the benefit of a washing line outside to hang the washing on. The owners gave us lots of help and advice and booked our Dolphin boat trip. It was a short walk into the centre of Paihia which was handy, and we used the tennis courts just around the corner. The Edelweiss is great value for money, considering the prices other motels were charging.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We got one of the larger rooms available and were quite happy with it, the only real lacking thing for me was the tv channels and lack of sky tv (Only can watch 1 channel).

Spa is really really nice, is covered and protects you from the elements which suprisingly enougth is quite uncommon as most motels I noticed in the area had spas in open non private areas.

Having a heated pool is nice but as we stayed during the colder months the spa was preffered still.

Service as mentioned in the title was great, as off season there were only a couple of people other than us at the motel and they made us feel right at home, breakfast was great (not that im a fussy eater) as well as good food, the owners brought us over our breakfast the night before for our early morning starts, sure put a smile on our dials.

On a note I read above about pub noise, I would have to agree, we had an all blacks game on during our stay and you could hear the people drinking and shouting but to be honest I think any motel in the area would be the same (unless some form of sound proofing i guess)

The motel is not super flashy in todays age but has everything we wanted, flat screen lcd tv and a spa bath with a nice little kitchen however after reading some over comments maybe the smaller cheaper rooms may not be as ideal.

Great walk to the town centre, matter of minutes..easy to find.

Having tennis available for free is a neat perk too, not that I tryed it but would of liked too & the free wifi internet seems to work well, you get 50 free megabytes and than you pay for more after.

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edelweiss Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Motel

Address: 70 Seaview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edelweiss Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our saltwater swimming pool and spa are heated year round! We have Sky TV with 50+ Channels and in-room WIFI. An easy two-minute walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the centre of Paihia. We have 18 self-contained units with kitchens/kitchenettes all serviced daily. Spa bath suites, 1 & 2 bedroom units, accessible and studio units. Breakfasts available, covered barbecue area, access to tennis courts, guest laundry, cots/highchairs, courtesy transfers. Children Welcome. Tour bookings at reception. Qualmark 4*. Host Accommodation Group members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Edelweiss Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Paihia
Edelweiss Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edelweiss Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.