We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and informative hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pioneer Waterfront Apartments to your Saves list
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call For Best Rates!!
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Helpful and informative hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Mark could not have been more informative and helpful. We learnt what was best to do to maximise our short stay in Paihia, and where the best value meals were in town. Could not have been happier! I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived about 8.30pm to were we had booked the Able Tasman Lodge but they had stuffed up our booking and had given our room away, We were very angry as we had driven from Whitianga and were in no mood to find somewhere else.
But they had done us a big favour as we started to look around and by chance parked outside the Pioneer waterfront apartments.
We decided to have a look and to find out how much as we were staying for 4 nights.
We got a big surprise the rooms were perfect and the price was cheaper than Able Tasman Lodge and 10 out of 10 views.
The hosts were great and made our stay a very pleasant one.
Don't look anywhere else just stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Where to start. Great location, directly across the road from a nice beach, minutes from the centre of town, and convenient to everything around. Apartment we stayed in (6), was very spacious and had a great view across the water. When we first arrived thought the bar/restaurant next door would have been an issue noise wise, but no such dramas occurred. And finally have to mention Mark and Viv for their first class help. Spot on with all suggestions and very knowledgeable of the area. Nothing is to much. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Would highly recommend the apartments to anyone wanting to stay in the Bay of Islands. Excellent location, very comfortable and modern apartments just a short walk from the centre of Paihia. Andy's upside down writing was a marvel and restaurant recommendations and places to visit were top notch - thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Be in no doubt, if you stay at this lodge you will not be disappointed.
Nothing is too much trouble for the management. information as to where to visit, where to eat - all their recommendations were first class. Accomodation was excellent and well positioned.
A credit to the tourist industry.
Well done Pioneer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a well designed complex of 12 apartments. They all feel private from one another and all have individual decks with outdoor furniture and a sunny aspect. We loved being able to walk everywhere! In fact in our 5 night stay we literally only walked, and didn't take the car out once. This meant walking to Waitangi treaty grounds, to the ferry to go across to Russell, and easily to the beach and little village township daily.
Comfortable and clean apartment, a really relaxing and easy stay that truly felt like a holiday!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Pioneer Waterfront Apartments provided us with a great, two day break. The two-bedroom apartment (#4) had a great view of the Paihia waterfront of the Bay of Islands. It was clean, tidy, and decorated in such a way as to make us feel special.

The service was great. Andy even provided a pitcher of milk for our afternoon tea, so we didn't have to run out and get some. The kitchen had all the amenities . . . dishwasher, microwave, oven, hob, and full sized refrigerator.

What was also nice is that right out of our door was the entrance to the pool and hot tub. At first we thought this might result in a bit of hussle-bussle noise . . . but no, that was no problem.

The facility is really convenient for restaurants, and was a five-minute walk to the wharf. That is important if one wants to take the tour boats and doesn't want to try to find parking near the wharf.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: In our opinion, #3 and #4 are the best choice as they are on the middle level with a balcony that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. A home away from home as all apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 Minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.