We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional treatment of their guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Save Saved
You added Pioneer Waterfront Apartments to your Saves list
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Warks
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional treatment of their guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Be in no doubt, if you stay at this lodge you will not be disappointed.
Nothing is too much trouble for the management. information as to where to visit, where to eat - all their recommendations were first class. Accomodation was excellent and well positioned.
A credit to the tourist industry.
Well done Pioneer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a well designed complex of 12 apartments. They all feel private from one another and all have individual decks with outdoor furniture and a sunny aspect. We loved being able to walk everywhere! In fact in our 5 night stay we literally only walked, and didn't take the car out once. This meant walking to Waitangi treaty grounds, to the ferry to go across to Russell, and easily to the beach and little village township daily.
Comfortable and clean apartment, a really relaxing and easy stay that truly felt like a holiday!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Pioneer Waterfront Apartments provided us with a great, two day break. The two-bedroom apartment (#4) had a great view of the Paihia waterfront of the Bay of Islands. It was clean, tidy, and decorated in such a way as to make us feel special.

The service was great. Andy even provided a pitcher of milk for our afternoon tea, so we didn't have to run out and get some. The kitchen had all the amenities . . . dishwasher, microwave, oven, hob, and full sized refrigerator.

What was also nice is that right out of our door was the entrance to the pool and hot tub. At first we thought this might result in a bit of hussle-bussle noise . . . but no, that was no problem.

The facility is really convenient for restaurants, and was a five-minute walk to the wharf. That is important if one wants to take the tour boats and doesn't want to try to find parking near the wharf.

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: In our opinion, #3 and #4 are the best choice as they are on the middle level with a balcony that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent the last three nights of our six week holiday in N.Z. here. We got a good rate(200n.z. dollars) a night and had a two bedroom apartment on the top floor.The apartment was modern, comfortable and well equipped.We were able to cook meals and do our washing in the apartment in between looking at the beautiful views from the balcony and relaxing with a book. We were able to walk to local restaurants one being next door and enjoy the lively atmosphere of the pub a short distance away.The friendly managers Mark and Viv advised us on activities and trips and as a result my husband went skydiving which he has been wanting to do for some time.This was a wonderful end to our holiday and if we were back in Paihia I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We rented an apartment at the back, where we could park right outside the door. Excellent apartments. Very roomy, lovely bedrooms and bathroom. Comfortable balcony, with BBQ, table, chairs and umbrella. Walking distance to the town and has lovely nearby restaurants. Very helpful and friendly managers. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front probably have the better views. But really, it doesn't matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We rented a two bedroom apartment which had everything and was immaculate. It was beachfront with uninterrupted views of the bay of islands but easy walking to Paihia's restaurants and shops.

The managers were very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay despite bad weather.

And it has free WiFi.

The downside was the biggest bed was not in the main bedroom. A little confusing but did not stop us from sleeping.

Room Tip: The apartments at the front are best but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

This place was excellent. Everything there and great service. Located on the strip, great views and places to eat all close. Lovely helpfull reception. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pioneer Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Waterfront Apartments

Address: 44 Marsden Road, Bay Of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pioneer Waterfront Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped and serviced 2 bedroom apartments in Paihia, gateway to the Bay of Islands. All apartments have spa baths, full kitchen, dining lounge area and patio with BBQ. On site pool and hot spa. Ticketing facilities for local tours, cruises and activities. 3 minute walk to Paihia Village and Maritime Centre. Restaurants right next door. Your Bay of Islands home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pioneer Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Waterfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.