We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Nautilus Resort to your Saves list
Nautilus Resort
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Puketona Road | Waitangi, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Cosy and Romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay here. The owner, Rae, was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was great - tucked away from the main road but still close to everything - and just a short walk into town and to the beach.
Our room was lovely and had everything we needed to be comfortable. The bed, oh the bed ...... the most luxuriously comfy bed we have ever slept in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Owner at Nautilus Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and didn't 'take the bed' home with you as you threatened. It was loving having you and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Friendly staff - great advice re road closures due to horrendous weather on the weekend! Couple of downfalls regarding the room - the window latches in the bathroom, lounge and bedroom were broken / would not seal the window closed properly, therefore we had some unwanted 'breezes' and a range of insects coming in at night. The bed was pretty uncomfy and my husband who usually can sleep on anything - ended up on the couch the 2 nights. Also, the spa bath in the bathroom had some random duct tape patching up a hole on the bottom? Not sure what that was about...! Flannels were a little stained (some bleach stains?) and old too.
All in all, disapointed as the room was dated and in desparate need of a revamp, perhaps a heat pump for winter months too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Owner at Nautilus Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We like many other accommodation providers are surprised that some guests are unable to talk to our friendly staff at the time of their stay to express any areas of concern and instead take the time to post a comment after the event which does not give our staff or ourselves an opportunity to address any specific areas at the time and hopefully make their stay more pleasant.

In response to your particular comments. We have double checked and there was one broken latch in the living room which has since been repaired, we found no evidence of insects and would have been surprised considering the time of the year. We endeavour to provide a happy medium when it comes to bedding but cannot please everyone, in the next review the couple stayed in the same room as you and loved the bed - and wanted to take it home!

When you checked in you were advised that we were waiting to have the bath re-lined and the waterproofing duct tape is a patch over a crack made by a previous quest, and whilst unsightly it did not make the bath unhygienic or unusable.

The room does require a painting refresh but when this is undertaken there are no plans to include a heat pump for the few weeks one may be required in winter. We believe that we provide adequate heating in other forms. That said, we hope up appreciated the new carpets, flat screen televisions, Blu-Ray player and a number of other recent upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here just before the big storm in July & were lucky enough to have a taste of the winter less north.
We stayed in a 2 br apartment downstairs (kitted out very well for people with disabilities) & had plenty of space to move around with 2 teens.
The pool (which we didn't use - too cold) & spa were right outside the door & well looked after.
Good cooking facilities, great bathroom - equipped with everything right down to the hand towel & grooming kit, really comfy beds.
Would highly recommend for a getaway was so quiet, hardly heard any other guests, though I guess it might be a bit noisier in summer.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed there last year and it thoroughly enjoyed our stay. it was a lovely large 2-bedroom Apartment with a Spa which was awesome ! The range of guest supplies was excellent and more than enough for the price we paid. Got the deal from Grabone so was a awesome bargain and staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have stayed at the Nautilus twice now once without the kids and once with the kids, both times we found everything we needed and more. Bookings for events were even able to be booked to our hotel and settled later. Wonderful staff assistance and local knowledge.Countdown right next door so handy for any supplies. Plenty of parking. Great location only a short stroll to everything in town and a nice walk along the beach to Waitangi. We had such a nice stay that we have booked in to go back for labour weekend and already staff have asked if we would like to have tickets for the wine festival that weekend. Looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: A room upstairs was nice for a couple, however we enjoyed the room downstairs opening onto the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed for a week in the school holidays in a large group, it had everything we needed, great location-few minutes to beach, over road from adventure park(great for kids),next to supermarket,-so never short on supplies. The pool and spa were used daily, the tennis courts also had some use. We took a boat and there was ample parking.it really was a superb holiday and the hotel was clean and offered great facilities. Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a quick 3 day Easter break and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Nautilus. Friendly, helpful staff coupled with a great location meant we could relax, unwind and have a great time in Paihia.

We were impressed with the tidy rooms and a good outdoor area for the kids to run around in. We were even allowed to check in a couple of hours earlier to feed our infant who needed to get settled after the long roadtrip.

Thanks again-look forward to staying at the Nautilus in the near future!

Joe & Zania

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nautilus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Resort

Address: 9 Puketona Road | Waitangi, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nautilus Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nautilus Resort / Motel is a Qualmark accredited 4* Plus luxury selection of accommodation apartments, 200 metres from the golden sand beach and close to Waitangi on the edge of Paihia - the hub of the beautiful Bay of Islands in the Far North of New Zealand. The centre of Paihia is a pleasant 15 minute sea front stroll away. If it is adventure, excitement or just relaxation you seek, look no farther than the Bay of Islands. Every conceivable activity is catered for from Paihia, from diving the Rainbow Warrior and the spectacular sub-tropical undersea world, to sailing, kayaking, fishing, horse riding, golfing, parasailing and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nautilus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Paihia
Nautilus Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.