We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Resort

Save Saved
You added Nautilus Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nautilus Resort
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Puketona Road | Waitangi, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good room and convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed four nights in a suite of rooms with our own balcony. Although the motel was built a few years ago, we found it well equipped, clean and comfortable. There was a modern large TV in the lounge and a smaller TV in the bedroom. The hosts, Rae and Steve were very helpful. Although we did not use them, there is a large swimming pool and spa . The BBQ was easy to use and conveniently placed. The Wifi connection was good. It is about a 15 minute walk from town but just a couple of minutes by car. If you need groceries, Countdown is just next door. Overall, this is well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Try for upper room with individual balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed a few nights. The place was quite smelly. It needed freshening. The pool was immaculate. But if you get a room near the road it's a noisy road. No air con but fans in the room. Nice clean bathrooms. Supermarket right next door.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Owner at Nautilus Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at our resort and we are sorry that you did not enjoy the experience.

To respond to a couple of your comments and ratings we are firstly disappointed that you saw fit to title your review “Upstairs Terrible”….there are seven rooms upstairs, you have only ever had experience, or seen, one of them.

We are sorry that you thought your upstairs room was smelly, despite the nice clean bathrooms. The room you stayed in before we moved you has been occupied continuously throughout the summer season and never before has anyone mentioned a smell of any kind. When a guest leaves the rooms are thoroughly cleaned, down to replacing all mattress protectors, pillow protectors, shower curtains and linen with freshly washed materials. Kitchens are deep cleaned and all crockery and cutlery are washed and polished.

Given your other comments we feel that your two star rating for cleanliness is grossly unreasonable.

The road noise you mention is an issue around most of Paihia during the summer season, remember it was high season when you stayed and Anniversary Weekend in Auckland and Northland. There were many thousands of tourists visiting the area that weekend so yes there is a certain amount of road noise disruption, remember also that we are not on the main route into town so it could be a lot worse.

We noted also that you gave us a three star rating for service which we find confusing given that not once did we fail to give you what you wanted, and we went to the extra effort and expense of moving you as soon as we could to one of our best two bedroom apartments downstairs, for no extra cost, which was already minimal to reflect your original room booking, yet again, you mark us down on value.

We do appreciate your comments about the swimming pool and bathrooms and are glad you found downstairs more to your liking, but we do believe that some of your rating scores are unfair. That said, perception is in the eye of the guest. As always we will try to address any deficiencies we find immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for work, but I would definately stay out of my own choice too. The staff were always accomodating and friendly! We have stayed there 4 times, and each visit never fails with service and a great room. Boat washing facilities are provided, and the supermarket is right next door. Highly recommended for your next visit to Paihia!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a very neat and well presented motel. We had a studio room which was booked for 6 days. On retrospect this was a mistake of mine as it was too small for that length of time. I noticed that there were much larger and well presented rooms that would have been better. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short to return home after only one day. We received great help from the owner who assisted us with making our travel bookings and drove us to the I-Site to meet the bus to Auckland.
I found this willing and friendly help very impressive and would happly recommend the Nautilus to other travellers. It has a good location next to the supermarket and is about a 10 minute walk from the centre. We did not have a car and I would recommend one for this location.Again many thanks for all your help in making our bookings!

Room Tip: Avoid the studio rooms for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just lovely, friendly efficient staff, gorgeous gardens and massive pool. Rooms spacious and very clean and up to date. Comfortable beds. Kids play area great and had fun on the tennis court. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

After a month away travelling around New Zealand it was so wonderful to spend my last 4 days in the Bay of Islands, staying at the Nautilus Resort. The room was spacious, very clean and the bed was so comfortable. It is located close to the supermarket and a 2 min walk from the beach. To get to town is a wonderful 15min beachside walk with views that take your breath away. The Nautilus made my stay in the Bay extra special, and the owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Either Booking.com or another motel messed up our booking so we were directed to the Nautilus. This turned out to be a great move. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly when one of our party was ill. The rooms were well equipped, very clean and spacious. There was a delightful swimming pool and good car parking spaces. It was easy to walk into Paihia, close to a supermarket but quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nautilus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Resort

Address: 9 Puketona Road | Waitangi, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nautilus Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nautilus Resort / Motel is a Qualmark accredited 4* Plus luxury selection of accommodation apartments, 200 metres from the golden sand beach and close to Waitangi on the edge of Paihia - the hub of the beautiful Bay of Islands in the Far North of New Zealand. The centre of Paihia is a pleasant 15 minute sea front stroll away. If it is adventure, excitement or just relaxation you seek, look no farther than the Bay of Islands. Every conceivable activity is catered for from Paihia, from diving the Rainbow Warrior and the spectacular sub-tropical undersea world, to sailing, kayaking, fishing, horse riding, golfing, parasailing and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Nautilus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Paihia
Nautilus Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.