We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a lovely pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Resort

Save Saved
You added Nautilus Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nautilus Resort
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Puketona Road | Waitangi, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 hotels in Paihia
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place with a lovely pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay. The pool was lovely, there is plenty of parking, a supermarket right next door, its only a short walk to the sea and the owners were lovely and very welcoming. The only downside being the location is slightly outside of town so would be quite a walk to the main Paihia area (we drove).

All round a good place to stay and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We first stayed here in February this year and it was so good that we have been regulars all year. The rooms are lovely and clean, and the owners are extremely hospitable. There is an excellent pool area with a spa and outdoor tables where you can relax in the sun. The supermarket is right next door which is very handy as the rooms are equipped with kitchens. If you own a boat, or are bringing one up to the Bay of Islands then the Nautilus is perfect as there is an area to park it and wash it. Our experiences staying here have been great every time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for the Paihia Classic (Russel to Paihia swim) weekend. We had plenty of space for master 3, miss 5 and us. The room was nothing fancy but it was large and had everything we needed. The pool area was lovely but the water was still a bit cold (early November). We didn't try the hottub but others seemed to be enjoying that. There was a big grassed area for the kids to run around with some play equipment and the biggest trampoline we've ever seem. The location is a bit out of town so it took us about 15 min to walk in but we could do it in about 7 min without the kids. Our only issue was that the walls were thin and other guests were being noisy until after 3 am so sleep was a problem. So long as other guests are not so rude, this is a great place to stay with the family at a reasonable price. Beds were on the soft side but still OK for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Owner at Nautilus Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi and thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review after your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities but are obviously sorry that some inconsiderate guests kept you awake. We assume they must have been outside or had their doors or ranch sliders open since the walls between apartments are all thick concrete block and noise transmission betweem rooms is usually minimal. Either way, should it happen in future a call to the duty manager and he/she would quickly sort the Issue. Thanks also for your comment about the bed, just so you are aware for your next stay, we have just completed upgrades to the beds in all the ground floor master bedrooms and are working on the first floor now. Thanks again for taking time to review your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Hope you did well in the Pahia Classic Swim as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very pleasant view from our room with the sea in the distance and bush covered hills to the left beyond the pool and the spa pool. We had a studio unit which was nicely presented and suitable for the weekend break. On checking in, the owner gave helpful information about local restaurants, as well as the details around the Wine & Food Festival being held the next day. The staff were friendly and obliging and the unit cleaned nicely. This resort had thoughtful extras - games to borrow, dvds available, plasters and an emergency headache remedy in the bathroom, as well as offering to return an item we overlooked when packing up. The resort itself is within walking distance to the town and the Treaty Grounds as well as the beach, with a supermarket next door an extra bonus. We'd be happy to recommend this accommodation to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Was staying with my mother and partner so wanted a two bdroom unit.
Booking was a breeze and the room was exactly as described. It was well appointed, clean, modern and very nice. It was downstairs and had a great view of the pool directly in front of us through the lovely big ranch sliders. The beds were very comfortable and there was no road noise.
The Motel is not on the beach but it is only 2 minutes walk so not a problem to nip down for a quick swim in the ocean.
I only met the owner when I was leaving but they were very friendly. The lady that met us when we arrived was very friendly and helpful.
We had a lovely stay, played tennis and enjoyed the spa. The pool was very clean but a little cold for me.
We will stay here again

Room Tip: Choose a dwonstairs room. Good access to the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just outside the main town area but only a very short walk away, and a handy location being next door to a supermarket. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The family facilities were great, our kids loved the large trampoline, swings, tennis court, spa and large swimming pool. We'd be happy to stay at the Nautilus Resort again.

Room Tip: Get one close to reception for best WiFi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived to find reception closed but as soon as we called the number on the door, Rae left her dinner at a local restaurant to book us in. She also returned later when we locked ourselves out.
The rooms are incredibly good value. We got the room cheaper than anywhere else we looked (and we looked!) and we were thoroughly impressed.
Two bedrooms, a kitchenette, a whirlpool bathtub, a swimming pool, a jacuzzi, a tennis court and a BBQ all available for use. Full tv, extra pillows, milk provided on arrival and a fully fitted kitchen. Rae and Steve have done an amazing job.

There's more information in the guest pack than you'd ever need and the facilities on site are damn good. Free racquets and balls for the tennis court and citronella candles provided for warm insect infested nights.
There's a supermarket right next door and the beach at the end of the road.

I would come back here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nautilus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Resort

Address: 9 Puketona Road | Waitangi, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nautilus Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nautilus Resort / Motel is a Qualmark accredited 4* Plus luxury selection of accommodation apartments, 200 metres from the golden sand beach and close to Waitangi on the edge of Paihia - the hub of the beautiful Bay of Islands in the Far North of New Zealand. The centre of Paihia is a pleasant 15 minute sea front stroll away. If it is adventure, excitement or just relaxation you seek, look no farther than the Bay of Islands. Every conceivable activity is catered for from Paihia, from diving the Rainbow Warrior and the spectacular sub-tropical undersea world, to sailing, kayaking, fishing, horse riding, golfing, parasailing and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Nautilus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Paihia
Nautilus Resort Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.