We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to book a 2 bedroom suite in the front of the hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Save Saved
You added The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Northern Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be sure to book a 2 bedroom suite in the front of the hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and took reviewers advice to request a room with a view of the Bay of Islands. This required booking a 2 room suite but it was definitely worth it. The view was outstanding, the suite was excellent - 2 bedrooms, kitchen, living room area - with lots of amenities - washer and dryer, dishwasher, etc. Free internet connectivity and free parking. Other reviewers have mentioned that the furniture is a bit worn, but this hotel's location is so perfect, the furniture just doesn't matter. There is no better location in Paihia as the hotel is located directly next to a row of restauarants and shops on the Bay and a quick walk to the wharf where you can catch a ferry to the lovely town of Russell.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    60
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Arrived at our apartment seemed quite lovely the view was extraordinary. The service was very good but a few things were lacking. The rooms furniture was a little uncomfortable, no wi fi access they do have an internet connection for $10.00 per day. The amount of money paid for this room one would think that this would all be included. Our brother stayed in a much cheaper accommodation & it was included. We had a two bedroom apartment which we shared with friends. Unfortunately we were given the resturant side front apartment which was great from a visual aspect. But the noise from the fans etc in the Thia resturant was really loud. Extremely unsightly & a little smelly during cooking times. Also the road noise was really loud I bought some earplugs. We stayed for a week so needed to wash. No airer only a dryer. Not all clothes can go in the dryer. Nowhere to hang towels in the ensuite baathroom yet want you not to use another towel for environmental reasons. I agree but not quite sure where to hang the towels to dry!!! The pool area is awful. To close to other apartments if I was in one of those apartments I wouldn't be happy. Pool area small & uninviting. The staff really nice & again great location. There are a lot better options look around.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed at the Waterfront while on vacation with another couple and were extremely happy! We'd come from some rugged accommodations and didn't have anything lined up in the Bay of Islands when we arrived. At the info booth on the water the staff called The Waterfront on our behalf and we booked their last available apartment, site unseen. We were thrilled with our room! We had an ocean view, a huge deck, full kitchen, washer and dryer and tons of space all for a bargain, end of the month special price. The 2nd bedroom had two beds which we pushed together but this was the case in every two-bedroom place we stayed in New Zealand. The Waterfront is conveniently located in the small town with numerous restaurants just a few feet away. The staff are helpful and we found it to be extremely clean and well-maintained. There's also a grocery store a couple blocks away and the location can't be beat for taking the ferry to Russell.

Be sure to visit Russell and walk around and the quaint, historic town. Beachfront dining is available in both towns and a short hike in Russell provides a stunning view. Also, don't miss a cruise through the bay with Dolphin Cruises. They'll take you throughout the islands, tell you about the history of the region, seek out wildlife in the water (we saw pods of dolphins) and make a brief stop on one of the many gorgeous islands. They'll also take you through the famous hole in the rock if weather permits (it didn't for us) but it's absolutely breathtaking redgardless. Everyone we encountered in the area was friendly and helpful, it's an extremely relaxing place for a true vacation and it's one of the places we want to go back to on a future visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Loved this place. We took one of the larger apartments, and it was worth it. Beautifully appointed, spacious, clean, central with a great view. Reception staff couldn't have been nicer, upgraded the couple who were travelling with us into the apartment next to us. We only had three nights, but after our stay in Auckland it was exceptionally restful, made us wish we had driven directly to Paihia. We were there in the last few days of November, so have no idea of what the place would be like in high summer, but we found it very restful, a lovely end to our holiday which had included 16 days in Fiji.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

It's fair to say these apartments are right in the centre of Paihia and a great base to explore The Bay of Islands from.

Although fairly new, they were already showing signs of wear and tear and our bathroom flooded after a shower so we changed rooms. The staff were very helpful and even provided laundry detergent for the washing machine which was very useful.

There are a number of restaurants within walking distance and we did have a couple of meals out but the food wasn't great.
Fortunately we caught Snapper on our fishing trip which we took back to our apartment and cooked ourselves. we also did the Coastal walk from Paihia to Opua which took about 3 hours and was fabulous, if you like walking you should definitely try to do that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Waterfront Suites is almost directly opposite the main wharf in Paihia so everything is within walking distance for you. The rooms are big and modern and even the kitchen appliance manuals are stored for you (in case you can't figure out how to operate the TV!). We were glad of the washing machine and dryer as well. Proper milk in the fridge too - it's the little things that I like!

The only thing that could be improved is the heating - we only had 2 small oil column heaters and although it wasn't really cold when we were staying there, I imagine in the winter it could get pretty chilly!

Staff were really helpful and friendly as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Excellent accommodation - great views; good kitchen facilities; spacious rooms and bathrooms; clean linen and towels and excellent customer service!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.