We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here for a fortnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Save Saved
You added The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Would stay here for a fortnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for just one night prior to our Overnight Cruise into the Bay of Islands which departed from just up the road. The apartment was wonderfully appointed with a lovely kitchen and plenty of room to move around. There was a small pool in the courtyard and BBQ's available outside as well. The place was lovely and would happily have an extended stay here. The staff were courteous and very helpful. The whole complex was very clean and has a large underground carpark. My only gripe was that just outside our room there was a palm tree with a spotlight on it for some reason which I thought would turn off later that night, but stayed on until sunrise, and it shone right into our apartment. We tried to slide the large sliding door (great idea by the way) to cut off our room from the light, but we were just too tired to move all our bags, so just put up with it. But don't let that put you off. This is really a 5 star place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for your feedback, it is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    61
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

One of the most beautiful properties. The balcony faces the bay of islands. Very peaceful and serenic. We were 5 of us, 2 couples and 1 adult. They had provided us with an roll over bed, which was very comfortable too. The apartment was well provided with a microwave, fridge, electric gas, coffee maker, washing machine and a dryer. Well spaced out. The waitangi grounds and the wharf are walking distance from the property. The restaurants are just a 2 min walk from the property. All in all it was one of the most pleasant stays in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Sneh2683,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you ever visit the Bay of Islands again.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Waterfront Suites is an ideal, quiet, centrally located Hotel in the centre of Paihia, across the street from the beach. We were thrilled with the accommodation,(beautiful kitchen, which we used), when we were shown room 105, an impeccably clean, modern, tastefully furnished suite and we knew immediately that this would be the perfect place to spend our last five days in the Bay of Islands. It felt like a 'home away from home', with all the conveniences one could ever want, including underground parking. There was a very classy and elegant feel to the whole complex. The courteous staff at the Front Desk were extremely helpful. We loved their recommendation for dinner nearby at 'Only Seafood'. Not only were we treated to extremely fresh fish, Hapuku, we were also wowed by their out of this world sticky toffee pudding for dessert. We were able to relax on the chairs outside our door on the patio, (next to the lap pool) and soak up the ambience all around. In fact, we met our delightful Australian neighbours there and struck up a great conversation, which has blossomed into an E-mail correspondence. In short, we were delighted by the wonderful accommodation at The Waterfront Suites, Paihia.

Room Tip: We loved room 105, in the back corner, but I imagine all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Mirilarry,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the Bay of Island.


Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rented two bedroomed eco apartment for one night, booking service was excellent, reception very polite and helpful. The apartment was beautiful, main room en-suite other room king room with bathroom next door, beds were very comfortable and luxurious, living room, fully equipped kitchen and balcony with table and chairs,. Sea views, lap pool, secure entry for car park and apartments, very clean and well maintained, sincerely recommend this for short or long stay. whole place was immaculate. what's the almost, well there were two couples and the tea and coffee supplies were 4 packs of each, just a silly thing but almost spoiled the perfect. right on the front in town.

Room Tip: if you have asthma or allergies ask for the low allergy room, it makes a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Bobbyjosin,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. It is very important to us as we endeavor to ensure you have a memorable stay with us. It is great to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back if you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I came here solo and as was on a bus wanted something nice and close to everything. The suite was well appointed, quite, modern - and I was made feel very welcome with a welcome card and local chocolates. Great location - close to everything but quite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your saty and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the Bay of Island for another deserved break!

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the ground floor two bedroom apartments and weren't disappointed. The rooms are very modern and spacious and the kitchen had everything required if you were planning to self cater. The kids had great fun in the lap pool and the close proximity to local restaurants and cafes made things nice and easy. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Tantooine_tour_guide,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that the children were able to enjoy the pool.
We look forward to welcome you back shall you ever return to the Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Reviewed this on Tripadvisor, and wasn't disappointed, if you're looking for accommodation in Paihia, then don't hesitate to book in here. First class accommodation, great value for money, everything you need is here, it's brilliant and I would definitely return if I come back to Paihia again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear C B

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back shall you ever return to the Bay of Island.

Kind regards,

Manager & The Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.