We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Great Apartment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Save Saved
You added The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location! Great Apartment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently, my parents, wife and I rented a two bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor. I think I speak on behalf of everyone when I say that we had a great stay with no complaints. The apartment spacious, clean, and by modern. The very small downside was the noise from a wedding party who had booked out many of the other rooms, and were loudly the pool, but other than that, it was a very good stay.

Good points
- Location, 2min walk from shops, restaurants and cruises (dock)
- Free Parking, underground, with elevator direct to room.
- Sky TV
- Large Kitchen area, very modern with everything you would need...and good quality.
- 2 bathrooms, one for each room
- Clean and Comfortable
- Great service
- View of sea
- Very effect air conditioning

Definitely value for money! I would stay again if I ever find myself in the Bay of Islands again.

Room Tip: Ask for 302 or 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback and taking the time to list the things you valued the most during your stay. We are always looking to improve our service and facilities.

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    59
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
92
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is excellent. A shame we only had the night to spend there. I could not get over how neat and clean the apartment was. Staff were fantastic. Very friendly and courteous.
Have not stayed anywhere near as good whilst in NZ

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Just one night here on the through. Got upgraded to a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with a sea view. Very nice thanks. Friendly, efficient check in, secure parking. Everything spotlessly clean and working. Opposite the wharf. Couldn't have been a better location. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Stu,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We started at the blue pacific luxury apartments DON'T GO THERE. We prepaid for 5 nights it was horrible. We packed up and left within the hour. We walked by the waterfront and went inside WOW. Went took the 3 bedroom penthouse right on the street with the ocean 30 feet away. The people were soooo helpful. We asked about no music in the room. The gal at the front desk brought her daughters stereo so we could play our iPod. There is a grocery store about 1 mile we cooked one of our best meals in our room with there full kitchen in our room . We drank wine and just looked in awe at the views surrounding us.

Room Tip: Get one is the rooms on the street. Full view!!! It is not that noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your kind contribution! - We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Paihia Sails Apartments run by waterfront suites as we needed a three bedroom and it's right next door over the restaurant. At check in we experienced the worst customer service I have ever witnessed. The manager Ana, yelled at us in reception and told us we were insulting and arguing with her. I explained we just needed a bathroom to change our baby before going out on a boat tour, since our room was not ready and she insisted that was not possible as they would have to re clean any room we used. I understood her concerns, but have never felt so unimportant in my life, especially as a paying customer. Once we were given our keys (turns out our room was ready as they only glanced at our booking info initially and thought we were in the suites section) we were taken to our room. The apartment was new and beautifully furnished with free wifi and tea, coffee etc. It is right in the town centre across from the water and couldn't be in a better location. Big deck overlooking the water, amazing! Once I started using things however, I noticed maintenance was lacking big time! I got locked in the ensuite bathroom and had to yell for my husband to come help me out! Later that night when bathing my daughter we found that the plug in the other bathroom was broken and no longer worked so I couldn't fill the tub. Lots of little problems which could easily be fixed with a bit of work. Such a shame as the building is so new and nice. Overall had a nice stay but will not be back after Ana's terrible blow up at us. It's sad no one has taught her manners or customer service skills.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Operations Manager HBC at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It concerns us greatly that you feel your experience didn’t meet your expectations, please accept our sincerest apologies.

As you can see from all of the very positive reviews, we have established a reputation of a very high level of guest service and we are very proud of what we have achieved.

In reply to your specific points we would like to respond with the following:

After checking our CCTV in reception we found no record of a staff member yelling during your check in and time in reception. However, it was evident that you were very disappointed your room was not ready for check in at 10.30 am. We understand and acknowledge the extra needs when traveling with a small child. As we are sure you can understand, we need to ensure the rooms are fully cleaned and have been checked thoroughly by the housekeeping supervisor before presenting the keys for check in. Unfortunately this was what caused the delay. Our standard check in time is 2 pm and housekeeping had done well to have this room ready by 10.45 am.

We have also checked our records which showed the hotel was fully booked the night before your arrival, and unfortunately there was no option to facilitate a clean room for your use. We in no way intended for you to feel “unvalued” and wish to apologize for this.

Please accept our thanks for the feedback you have provided, we appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your experience.


Kind regards,



Sharee Fawlk
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Plains
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a one bedroom but got upgraded to a 2 bedroom with fantastic views. Units are very comfortable and modern with bedrooms upstairs and a sizeable kitchen, dining, lounge. Washer, dryer, undercover parking and very close to shops and ferry huge positives. Wi fi not free, but very cheap for hi speed service. Staff are very friendly and helpfull.
This is very good accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the front have better views but lesser pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Kevin,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing us with your feedback.

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

WE asked for a one bedroom, but they had to put us in a two bedroom. This was a very spacious room, with a dining table, fully stocked kitchen (not just a tiny kitchenette), washer/dryer, and comfortable pillows. The beds were a little soft for my taste. Room 107 is adjacent to the backpacker's lodge, so it can get noisy, but the hotel will call for you if they go past 9:30 p.m. Internet costs extra, but is free on the grounds of the library, only a block away. Ideal place to explore from.

Room Tip: Avoid 107 if the backpackers are out in number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Joy,

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.