We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would stay here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Just one night here on the through. Got upgraded to a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with a sea view. Very nice thanks. Friendly, efficient check in, secure parking. Everything spotlessly clean and working. Opposite the wharf. Couldn't have been a better location. Would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Stu,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    65
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
101
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We started at the blue pacific luxury apartments DON'T GO THERE. We prepaid for 5 nights it was horrible. We packed up and left within the hour. We walked by the waterfront and went inside WOW. Went took the 3 bedroom penthouse right on the street with the ocean 30 feet away. The people were soooo helpful. We asked about no music in the room. The gal at the front desk brought her daughters stereo so we could play our iPod. There is a grocery store about 1 mile we cooked one of our best meals in our room with there full kitchen in our room . We drank wine and just looked in awe at the views surrounding us.

Room Tip: Get one is the rooms on the street. Full view!!! It is not that noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your kind contribution! - We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Paihia Sails Apartments run by waterfront suites as we needed a three bedroom and it's right next door over the restaurant. At check in we experienced the worst customer service I have ever witnessed. The manager Ana, yelled at us in reception and told us we were insulting and arguing with her. I explained we just needed a bathroom to change our baby before going out on a boat tour, since our room was not ready and she insisted that was not possible as they would have to re clean any room we used. I understood her concerns, but have never felt so unimportant in my life, especially as a paying customer. Once we were given our keys (turns out our room was ready as they only glanced at our booking info initially and thought we were in the suites section) we were taken to our room. The apartment was new and beautifully furnished with free wifi and tea, coffee etc. It is right in the town centre across from the water and couldn't be in a better location. Big deck overlooking the water, amazing! Once I started using things however, I noticed maintenance was lacking big time! I got locked in the ensuite bathroom and had to yell for my husband to come help me out! Later that night when bathing my daughter we found that the plug in the other bathroom was broken and no longer worked so I couldn't fill the tub. Lots of little problems which could easily be fixed with a bit of work. Such a shame as the building is so new and nice. Overall had a nice stay but will not be back after Ana's terrible blow up at us. It's sad no one has taught her manners or customer service skills.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Operations Manager HBC at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It concerns us greatly that you feel your experience didn’t meet your expectations, please accept our sincerest apologies.

As you can see from all of the very positive reviews, we have established a reputation of a very high level of guest service and we are very proud of what we have achieved.

In reply to your specific points we would like to respond with the following:

After checking our CCTV in reception we found no record of a staff member yelling during your check in and time in reception. However, it was evident that you were very disappointed your room was not ready for check in at 10.30 am. We understand and acknowledge the extra needs when traveling with a small child. As we are sure you can understand, we need to ensure the rooms are fully cleaned and have been checked thoroughly by the housekeeping supervisor before presenting the keys for check in. Unfortunately this was what caused the delay. Our standard check in time is 2 pm and housekeeping had done well to have this room ready by 10.45 am.

We have also checked our records which showed the hotel was fully booked the night before your arrival, and unfortunately there was no option to facilitate a clean room for your use. We in no way intended for you to feel “unvalued” and wish to apologize for this.

Please accept our thanks for the feedback you have provided, we appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your experience.


Kind regards,



Sharee Fawlk
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Plains
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a one bedroom but got upgraded to a 2 bedroom with fantastic views. Units are very comfortable and modern with bedrooms upstairs and a sizeable kitchen, dining, lounge. Washer, dryer, undercover parking and very close to shops and ferry huge positives. Wi fi not free, but very cheap for hi speed service. Staff are very friendly and helpfull.
This is very good accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the front have better views but lesser pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Kevin,

Thank you for sharing your experience and providing us with your feedback.

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

WE asked for a one bedroom, but they had to put us in a two bedroom. This was a very spacious room, with a dining table, fully stocked kitchen (not just a tiny kitchenette), washer/dryer, and comfortable pillows. The beds were a little soft for my taste. Room 107 is adjacent to the backpacker's lodge, so it can get noisy, but the hotel will call for you if they go past 9:30 p.m. Internet costs extra, but is free on the grounds of the library, only a block away. Ideal place to explore from.

Room Tip: Avoid 107 if the backpackers are out in number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Joy,

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Absolutely outstanding, sensational views from all apartments, beautifully appointed, really high quality equipment.

We stayed in a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment, plenty of room and exceptionally well looked after, you wouldn't believe that it was over 7 years old. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances, cutlery, crockery, etc. The lounge room, dining area and balconies were just lovely.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, we had a great stay and I would certainly recommend this property to anyone travelling to Paihia. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your contribution, we are pleased you enjoyed having the cot and highchair facilities.

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay. We stayed with our baby, there was lots of room, free travel cot and highchair, full kitchen etc it was great. Nice and quiet as well. Our only criticism was that the suite was a bit dark inside, but that's the nature of how it's built. Absolutely prime location in Paihia. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back shall you return to the beautuful Bay of Islands.

Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.