We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation...Service could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Save Saved
You added The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation...Service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here at the end of October 2012. We brought a grabone deal for $299 for 2 nights for a pool side room. When we called to book, we couldnt book a pool side room as none were available even if we changed our dates, so we had to pay $100 for the upgrade to oceanview. When we got there the place was pretty empty and i asked the receptionist why we had to upgrade and she said the poolside rooms were having maintenance. I said why would they have promotion for rooms not available and her response was "we have to run a business" in a rude tone. Part of the reason we booked this accommodation was for the heated pool, which was bone cold, i took this up with reception, to which i was told it was heated and set to 27 degrees, again in a rude tone. At most the pool would have been 6 degrees. So there was no swimming for our baby. The room was beautiful and the location was great, we really enjoyed our stay in Paihia, apart from the service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    61
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
93
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We checked in for 2 nights into a room beside the swimming pool. Wow if this is what all the rooms are like! They have everything you could need for a 1 night stay or a whole week. This place has nothing that they could improve on, even the check in by Shona was welcoming and informative. Nothing more to say but if you are staying in Paihia and don't stay here...your loss.

Room Tip: Stay here...simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,

Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Waterfront Apartments for 2 nights, in a 2 bedroom apartment for our family of four. We arrived after-hours and the manager was very helpful and friendly.My daughters couldn't believe I had booked such great accommodation.. Rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed. The dishwasher sachets and clothes washing powder sachets were appreciated. Very close to great restaurants and we had great views across the bay. The personal handwritten note of welcome, with the delicious fudge was the final touch. No-one wanted to leave and all accommodation since has been more expensive and of a much lower standard.
Thank you so much for a fabulous start to our NZ holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
It is very rewarding to learn that we have provided a great start to your holidays! Thank you for the great feedback, we endeavor to provide all our guests with the same experience as we did for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's my job to be nit-picky and find all the things hotels, restaurants, and spas could do better. But this was vacation, not work, and the Waterfront Suites in Paihia have very little they could improve on. As with all of my accommodation in New Zealand, I was amazed at the low quality, high cost, and inconvenience of internet access. Booking the room was easy online and the explanation of room types and costs fairly good. They could use some better definitions of all the room category types and for the hypo-allergenic room ( a great new feature I've never seen before) a better explanation of whether or not the room had an ocean view. (It should- for the price). Overall a great experience at a high quality establishment with great views and location and excellent service.

Room Tip: The view rooms are at the front of the hotel...unfortunately that's also the street side. On th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The Hypo-allergenic Suite does have a fantastic view!
We will certainly review the definitions of the rooms categories and will amend where possible We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Kitchens are fully equipped , be sure to take a room right in front next to the road , doubt if the view from behind is equally interesting , breakfast in not served in the hotel , it is arranged somewhere across the street .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Being self contained apartments we do not have restaurant facilities on site, however in an effort to provide additional services to our guests, we have arranged breakfast facilities with numerous restaurants in the area.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Waterfront Suites for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The accommodation far exceeded our expectations and everything we needed was there, including washing machine and dryer, dishwasher, plenty of crockery and other kitchen equipment, bathrobes, toiletries, umbrella, barbecue etc. We stayed in a one bedroom on the ground floor, right in front of the swimming pool. The weather was perfect, so we made good use of the outdoor area while there.
The premises is right in the heart of town and within walking distance to the restaurants and shops. Across the road is the jetty with all the tour boats and the ferry to Russell.
If you are looking for accommodation that ticks all the boxes then you won't be disappointed staying here.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is very rewarding to know we have met your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

The Waterfront Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor on 6th/7th november 2012. The outlook is lovely, views of the sea and Russell in the distance, and in the centre of Paihia so a couple of minutes walk to bars, restaurants, ferry port etc. Its easy to find on the main road, free underground parking, and the receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The apartment was clean, spacious, well equipped for self catering, and a welcome gift box of fudge which was a lovely and personal touch. The bathroom was small but had everything you needed, including a washing machine and tumble dryer with complimentary soap powder. The apartments are serviced everyday with all tea, coffee, washing up liquid, toiletries etc replenished, and they even left us a clothes horse to use when they saw our washing drying around the apartment. My husband used the pool and towels are provided, a refreshing swim in a wonderful place. The suites are a perfect place to use as a base and explore the area, we did a trip across to Russell, which was a lovely place to see. I would highly recommend the waterfront suites, fantastic value for money and fantastic apartment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfront98, Manager at The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always encouraging to read that our guests have fully enjoyed their stay and that all our team has delivered a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection

Address: 100 Marsden Road, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Paihia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.