We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Save Saved
You added Bay of Islands Gateway Motel to your Saves list
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our first motel in NZ. If they are all this good we will be very happy. The owners are very helpful and the motel is near a great beach. The rooms are great for those who want to self cater, but there are plenty of eating places nearby if you prefer.
Bay of Islands has something for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome, immaculate rooms, great service, the motel is conveniently situated close to the beach and is good value for money...I enjoyed two great nights there and on my way back from the cape I stayed for a further three nights whilst exploring the Bay of Islands...well worth a visit...

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Of all the places that we stayed in, this was my favorite. I was travelling with my parents. We booked a family room, with two beds. The room was spacious, clean and had everything you need to be comfortable. There was a small kitchen to make a basic meal, a dining table, TV and unlimited free wi-fi (which I found was a rare commodity in most hotels in NZ!!).
The hosts were wonderful. They were helpful and approachable.
Our parking spot was right outside our room.
It's a 2 minute walk to the waterfront. About a 10 minute walk to the pier. The grocery store Countdown is right across the street from here.
This place was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston north
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Awesome hosts, couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Good location, close to beach, supermarket and treaty of waitangi grounds. Clean comfortable rooms with air conditioning. The only reason I didn't give this an excellent score is because you have to wash your own dishes or get charged an extra $15, we were unaware of this until we were there. I didn't like the fact that the dishes may not have been washed to a high standard by previous guests, my first job was to boil the dishes!!

Room Tip: Shop around, we later found there were deals to be had in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw ,As a reply to the dishes, Our Motel Policy requires all guests to wash
their dishes before they check out, As Most motels request the same. All of our Kitchen utensils are checked and cleaned on every departure of guests to a very high standard,I could post some pics of some guests that dont wash their dishes,with every piece used, and pots full of burnt food, stacked up on the floor and spillage on the the carpets and breakage.Then we have to pass
this cost on to that guest.

All the best for 2013

Regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A lovely motel in an ideal location in beautiful Paihia. Virtually on the beach, walking distance to a good supermarket, Waitangi Treaty house and the ferries to the Bay of Islands. The room was very spacious and clean with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The owners were very helpful in booking trips and advising us on other activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for your reveiw


All the best for 2013

Regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Got there late at night. 1st thing I noticed was that is was next door to a petrol station and opposite a supermarket. Delivery trucks and such coming and going all day.

Yes I could see the beach 200 metres away but the street was a busy highway with all the traffic going to the main town of Keri keri right outside - roads were busy from 0700 to 2300.

I stayed only a night or two then moed on.
Sherrin & kevin were nice hosts but if \I had the time to research things I would never have stayed in such a location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin119, Owner at Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank for your reveiw, We are only 50mtrs from Ti Beach, and 200 mtrs from the only supermarket . The the whole of Paihia is a very noisey busy happening place, We are very sorry
about that .Im glad that we have a vacant site next to us, and not a backpackers or Bar.

Regard

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The rooms are just as they show on the website, well done and each room is tastefully
decorated.The rooms are self sufficient with a kitchen etc. The size of the rooms is huge with a green backyard. The motel is not close to any city centre etc but conveniently located in-between Paihia and Keri Keri.
Ask for any help at the reception and trust me you wont regret their advice, they know the best restaurants and nice walking trails.
Don't miss on the home made scones they are yumm.

Room Tip: All their rooms are nice and complete value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay of Islands Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Address: 2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#16 Family Hotel in Paihia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay of Islands Gateway Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated motel located at the northern entrance to Paihia. 50 meters from a lovely swimming beach. All units self contained and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay of Islands Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Gateway Hotel Paihia
Bay Of Islands Gateway Motel Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.