We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derek, David, Katie and Nicole, Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay of Islands Gateway Motel to your Saves list
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Derek, David, Katie and Nicole, Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a fantastic 2 night stay ar the Gateway Motel in the Bay of Islands. The room was perfect, a large size, clean and quite. Sherrin and Kevin were wonderful hosts and helped us to book our trip for our holiday, they were very helpful and we could not have arrange it and had such a wonderful time without them. Highly recommend this motel for anyone travelling to the bay :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had an 11 day stay in a 1-BR suite which was roomy, well provisioned and had a homelike ambiance. The bathroom was large and the shower excellent. Spotlessly clean and for golfers, it is closely situated to a good course with only a brief walk to the beach. Sherrin and Kevin were very helpful and accommodating and the Gateway was one of the highlights in our complete tour of the North Island. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Our 1-BR suite was on the second floor and it was a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were offered an upgrade to a 2-BR suite during our week-long stay in March 2012. The view was nearly as nice as the place around the corner (which charges 3x as much), and everything else was excellent. Very close to the beach, backs onto lovely bush, 2-minute walk from large grocery store, very comfortable bed, modern bathroom, well-equipped kitchenette, large rooms with lots of space for everything. Our hosts were very pleasant, generous and accommodating. Close to Waitangi and close but not too close to the pier. Hosts very knowledgeable about local attractions and events.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria,b.c.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at this motel , spotless and all the full kitchen provisions appeared brand new .
Terrific owners who drove us to town when raining and to get final bus off. A few minutes walk from town centre but therefore much quieter and near beach and the Waitangi park and fishing spots. Bus tours going out of town all picked us up at our motel . Quiet for sleeping and very large one bedroom with kitchen and tv/dining area. Owners could not have been kinder and will book tours for you if wish.

Room Tip: We had upstairs room with deck out front . There are 3 rooms on that level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLETTA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The motel was great in all aspects.When we arrived after a long journey We received a very warm welcome from Kevin and Sherrin who showed us to our superbly appointed apartment. The room was huge with plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage and the bathroom was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Kevin and Sherrin who gave us all the information about Pahia and the area that we wanted. The motel was in the quiet end of Pahia just 50 meters from the lovely beach, and yet just 20 minutes stroll along the promenade to the town with its shops and restaurants and the pier where the cruise boats were to be found. At the end of each day we returned to find that our apartment had been serviced to a very high standard. We were sorry when the time came to leave but we will certainly stay here when we next visit NewZealand and the beautiful of Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine but on the ground level you can park right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The motel is modern ,the service from the kind hosts was first class.

We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with our son and daughter.
Rooms are spacious, very clean with good facilities, air conditioning and serviced daily.
We enjoyed a lovely private spa and jacuzzi area for guests.The hotel is conveniently located just across the road from a supermarket and 2 minutes walk to the beach.
We would definitely recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here and would like to compliment Kevin and Shirren on their brilliant hospitality. The room had everything you could possibly need-situated on the outskirts of Paihia but near enough to the centre and the pier to not be an issue. Had just been in Sydney for 4 nights so lovely to chill-we were even supplied with beach loungers to laze on the beach which was just across the road. Took the ferry over to Russell and visited Kerikeri-both of interest. A Supermarket was about 200 metres up the road and had everything that you could possibly need. We eat in everynight which suited our needs. I would definitly recommend The Gateway Motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Gateway Motel

Address: 2 Puketona Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay of Islands Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated motel located at the northern entrance to Paihia. 50 meters from a lovely swimming beach. All units self contained and air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bay of Islands Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Gateway Hotel Paihia
Bay Of Islands Gateway Motel Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay of Islands Gateway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.