We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegra House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Allegra House to your Saves list
Allegra House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Allegra House for our honeymoon - March 2013 and had a great time, its a beautiful B&B with amazing views! Heinz and Brita were so accommodating and gave us some great suggestions of things to do and had great knowledge of the area and sights. The room we stayed in was really nice and private, it was beautifully furnished and we felt right at home!

We would highly recommend Allegra House to all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was great to have you here for your honeymoon and hope it will stay a memorable place for you. We always enjoy having New Zealanders to stay and sharing our special piece of NZ as well as hearing about your special places. Do hope to see you again. We loved seeing your wedding photos :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
152
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Allegra House at the start of our month long trip round New Zealand and couldn't have chosen a better place. The current house is the result of an architect-designed extension and re-working of an earlier building and is absolutely fantastic. It sits high up above the town with heartstoppingly beautiful vieiws of the bay of islands. To wake up in the morning, open the curtains and see the marvellous view was just wonderful. The decor is modern and everything in the house is of the highest quality.

Heinz and Brita are the perfect hosts - warm and welcoming and very relaxed. We felt at home immediately we arrived. The breakfast is excellent and, weather permitting, is enjoyed sitting on the terrace admiring the view and chatting to Heinz, Brita and other guests.

There is a laundry on site and Heinz is extremely knowledgeable about place to eat, things to do etc. If we ever return to NZ, we will make a point of returning to Allegra House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our room was large and comfortable with a veranda giving a magnificent view over the Bay of Islands. This B&B is modern and stylish. It is a 5 minute walk downhill, mostly through the B&B’s own gardens, to the ferry port and restaurants (but a steep climb back). The bed was big and comfortable and the area was quiet and dark. This is the only B&B we found in NZ that had air conditioning. Everything was very clean.

Continental breakfast on the terrace was good quality with plenty of choice. The hot tub was fine and parking wasn’t a problem. Our hosts recommended and booked the Bay of Islands ferry tour, which was well worth doing. The wifi worked well.

If you stay in Paihia we would recommend this B&B if only to experience the view from the bedroom windows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Allegra House was an excellent place to stay at the start of our month in New Zealand. The accommodation is very comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast on the balcony in the sunshine overlooking the Bay of Islands was ideal.
Heinz was an excellent host offering advice and information on trips and activities in the area and he was very helpful in sorting out our car hire pick up for us.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The allegra house has an excellent view over the bay of Islands.very friendly hosts and beautiful rooms.the breakfast was healthy and tasty. The hosts speak German,french and english. They have good advises for daytrips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the views and we always enjoy being reminded what a lovely spot we have to share with our guests. We also enjoy speaking German and French to any guests who like to and especially if it makes them feel more relaxed or to help with information about trips, restaurants etc. We hope to see you again and also thank you for sending other guests our way since you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Allegra House is just beautiful and was the perfect place to start our 3 week vacation in New Zealand. After a long journey from the United States, Allegra house was welcoming, comfortable, quiet, and the view is second to none! Breakfast was delicious and Heinz and Brita can tell you anything you need to know about NZ. We highly recommended the Allegra House. Thank you Heinz and Brita!
Gary and Margaret Nifong

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is not surprising that Heinz and Brita have won Trip Advisor 2013 Travellers' Choice Award it is a wonderful choice for your stay in the Bay of Islands. Beautiful accommodation, magnificent views and delightful hosts. Highly recommended - the best accommodation we have found in the Bay of Islands and this is our sixth visit in 13 years!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We very much enjoyed having you with us for a few days. It is thanks to nice guests like yourselves that we get a Trip Advisor Award - thank you. We do hope the rest of your trip goes well and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.