We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegra House

Save Saved
You added Allegra House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allegra House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It is not surprising that Heinz and Brita have won Trip Advisor 2013 Travellers' Choice Award it is a wonderful choice for your stay in the Bay of Islands. Beautiful accommodation, magnificent views and delightful hosts. Highly recommended - the best accommodation we have found in the Bay of Islands and this is our sixth visit in 13 years!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We very much enjoyed having you with us for a few days. It is thanks to nice guests like yourselves that we get a Trip Advisor Award - thank you. We do hope the rest of your trip goes well and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
143
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Bay of Islands and could not have chosen a better place to stay. Our hosts, Brita & Heinz treated us as their friends, rather than just customers, the room enjoyed fabulous views over the bay (and that was from room 2!) and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a fun occasion when all guests ate together on the balcony looked after by Heinz, who cooks perfect boiled eggs! The bread is also excellent!
The walk up the hill is hard work, but the views are worth the struggle and it must get rid of some calories!
For anyone who enjoys comfort in wonderful surroundings Allegra House is definitely the place to stay. We would also recommend 35 degrees for an evening meal.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks. We enjoyed meeting you and sharing some good chats. We get a lot of guests who enjoy the chance to have a desert knowing they will walk it off on the way home!!. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freienbach, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We can really, really, really recommend this location. Heinz and Britta are wonderful hosts. The view of our room was unbelievable. Breakfast more than delicious and the support/advices of Heinz,... I can´t find the right words.
Thanks a lot for everything! Greetings from Switzerland/Germany
Richard&Bettina

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here to visit The Bay of Islands. Allegra house is set up above the bay and the rooms all look out over it with balconies too. So beautiful we had DIY suppers each night in preference to going to restaurants. Heinz and Brita were lovely hosts and the breakfasts were delicious and healthy too- served looking over the bay of course. They were very helpful with organising trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

When we entered our room and saw the view from the large window and balcony we gasped with amazement. This is a wonderful place to stay and nothing was too much trouble to Brit and Heinz who clearly want their guests to enjoy their stay but give you your own space.
We were fortunate to see the New Year in with all the guests inivited by our hosts to champagne and nibbles and watch the fireworks over the Bay. A lovely start to 2013. We were on a long tour and so were able to do our laundry without any hassle. We also did the cheapest helicopter tour for 20 minutes which Heinz booked for us. Unforgettable too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a wonderful few days we spent here in fabulous accomodation with absolutely stunning views.Heinz and Brit were fantastic hosts,we enjoyed our morning chats with Heinz over breakfast and appreciated the advice he gave us.Loved our sailing trip in Paihia.Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the sailing trip. We also enjoy having good chats over breakfast with guests and the great variety of topics we discuss. Hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in allegra house for three nights and enjoyed it very much. the place is spotlessly clean and we felt very comfortable and welcome. we stayed on the top floor for the first two nights, where we had a stunning view over the bay. the downstairs room where we stayed for another night, was also perfect. heinz and brita are very friendy hosts, heinz magicked a yummy breakfast every morning and was very helpful with advice on what do to in the area. there is a small path running from the house down to paihia, you can reach the town in a couple of minutes.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.