We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allegra House

Save Saved
You added Allegra House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allegra House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in Feb 2012 and had a wonderful time. Britta and Hans made us feel extremely welcome and did all they could to make our time enjoyable. The B&B is without a doubt one of the best I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The room was spotlessly clean, superbly equipped and a fantastic balcony where we could sit and admire the view of the amazing view of the bay.

The breakfast was lovely, with much more than we expected. I did try to eat it all, but failed.....it was fun trying!

One of the other reviewers on Trip Advisor mentions the short cut through the trees on the way to the beach was a bit of a chore, I have to disagree, it really wasn't. As long as you are not wearing 6" heels, then it's no problem at all and saves a long walk round. For me the view from the room more than makes up for a tiny 50 metre walk through woodland.

Thanks for a great stay guys :o)

Room Tip: I think all rooms have an excellent view of the sea, so you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegraNZ, Owner at Allegra House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the walk from us into town and also for adding your photos. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
143
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December, the start of our 3 1/2 week trip in New Zealand for our honeymoon.

The accomodation is perfect...we stayed in the apartment, and it was so nice to have full kitchen facilities, with a living room, to just relax - we really felt at home.

The apartment was incredibly spacious, the photos don't do the size of the bedroom justice! Also, what really made Allegra special is the amazing view of the Bay of Islands...it is so beautiful.

Heinz was fantastic on our arrival, and quickly sorted out a boat trip for us the next day, as well as giving us lots of tips for other activities to do.

A really fantastic place, and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The apartment is great if you want to have a few days off from eating out, excellent facilities, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Bay of Islands was our favorite spot on the North Island and makes our list of most beautiful places in the world. The Allegra House is a perfect place, in a perfect place. You can't beat the view out of your bedroom window. The accommodation is very nice and breakfast was delicious. Loved the fresh croissants every morning!

Room Tip: Loved the king suite on the top floor of the home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here at the end of a 3000km trip around the south and north islands of N.Z. It was absolutely perfect! The hosts Brita and Heinz were very relaxed, friendly and helpful.They organised my flight to Cape Reinga, moving it to a better day, because of the weather report. My room, at the top of the beautiful house was incredible. The views from the big glass, full length windows were fabulous, of Paihia and the bay and islands. Out on the very private terrace, listening to music from the sound system and sipping excellent chilled Kiwi white wine was paradise. The room was spacious and luxurious with a large kitchen and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and from there you could see all the view.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I am from NZs north.We live in AUS now and went back in March for a wedding. The hosts, Brita and Heinz, were so welcoming and friendly. The night we went to the wedding they delivered breakfast to our room so that we wouldn't have to get up in time for breakfast in the main kitchen after our late night.

We stayed in the apartment. It was stunning with birds nest views over the Bay of Islands, a lovely big bathroom (fantastic shower), cozy, comfy bed. You walk In through the kitchen, which has a big window out to those views. The living area extends onto the big deck and steps it's way down to the jacuzzi nestled with native trees around and looks out over the bay towards Russell.

It will make you want to move in!

Thanks to Brita and Heinz :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was our first "B&B" on our 5 week NZ trip.... what a fantastic start! The room was spotless, modern and supremely comfortable, with walk in shower and of a high quality everywhere. The views are stunning.... one night we simply bought some tapas style food and a bottle of NZ's finest and sat on our balcony and watched the sun set....absolutely memorable! We stayed for 3 nights and Heinz and Brita even organised a change to our flight to Cape Reinga because the weather forecast was better for a day earlier (this was a smart move!), and arranged breakfast to be brought up to our room for the early start. The house is an easy 5 minute walk down to all the restaurants/attractions/harbour in Paihia and a (slightly harder) 15 minute walk back up, but the elevated position gives simply stunning views over the Bay of Islands. A fantastic start to our NZ adventure....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here from 28th December - 1 January and had a wonderful stay. Heinz & Brita are the perfect hosts. Everything was excellent - the accommodation, the welcome, and the breakfasts. Our first visit to NZ got off to a superb start in such a beautiful place with such stunning views. Thank you for your kindness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allegra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra House

Address: 39 Bayview Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegra House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra House, our spacious, modern home is in a quiet, central location away from traffic but not far from restaurants, shops and the wharf. Wake up to spectacular uninterrupted views over Paihia to Russell and the Bay of Islands. We our proud that our 3 Bed and Breakfast rooms and 1 self contained one bedroom apartment are rated 4 star (Hosted) by Qualmark.The Bed & Breakfast rooms all have ensuite bathrooms, their own tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, space to sit and relax with comfortable chairs and a balcony overlooking the sea.The Self catering Apartment with super king bed in the bedroom has a large bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge with comfortable leather seating opening onto the balcony. We can also put a single bed in the lounge area.All rooms have their own air conditioning to heat or cool as you choose, TV, DVD player & CDs and free wireless internet or computer access. You are also welcome to use the BBQ, laundry facilities and to enjoy our broad collection of books in the guest lounge. After a day of activities we hope you will enjoy relaxing in the hot spa pool or a have a drink on your own balcony enjoying the view or a game of petanque in our peaceful setting surrounded by native bush. The bush area is full with native trees, plants and birds and there is a bush track to take you down the hill to the centre of Paihia – about 5 minutes down and maybe a bit longer up again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Allegra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra House Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.