We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appledore Lodge

Save Saved
You added Appledore Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Appledore Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Paihia B&B and Inns
Diepenbeek, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Janet and Jim from the Appledore lodge. They arranged a booking for a tour to the hole in the rock and points us some good restaurants en free parking places in the town of Pahia, all wrote on a map. The room had a spectacular view and a very nice and comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good.
Thank you, Janet and Jim for your hospitality and we recommend this B&B to all our friends in Belgium

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A nice room with the view on the river. So one expect to have a quiet room. But unfortunately the B&B is located close to the road so one a little nuisance of the traffic noise. No WiFi. When we arrived the hosts were very pushy in selling us a boot trip to the hole in the rock. It felt uncomfortable. But on the other hand the boot trip was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Steph and Carl were the perfect hosts for a perfect B&B and surrounding. We spend two days in november 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. The view across the river is just beautiful. The beach of Paihia is just a 5 Minute car ride away. And much thanks to Carl and Steph for all your tipps and hints - especially 'her majesty pleasure'! To say it short: We would come back right now! Greetings Katja and Patrick

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Appledore is set on the banks of the Waitangi river about 7km from Paihia.
The setting of the house is idillyc but as there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance you have to drive to eat - it took us about ten minutes to drive to Pahia where there are plenty of options. Stephanie and Carl were very helpful giving us suggestions for places to eat as well as trips.
One downside was the breakfast which, having been prepared the previous afternoon / evening, was left in our fridge for the next morning...so some of the items were a little past their best.
Compared to other similar B&B's we felt it was a little overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Wow we were so lucky to find Appledore. Everything was absolutely wonderful - Stephanie and Carl, our hosts, could not have been more friendly and helpful and the accommodation and setting were outstanding. Photos on web do not deceive. All this peace within 5 minutes drive of Paihia. The best start to our 6 week tour that we coudl have hoped for. Wished we lived closer, we would be regular visitors.

Roger and Barbara Baldwin
Thorpe Bay, England

Room Tip: We loved the Riverside Suite - it was on the corner of the accommodation and looked both ways up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We travelled round New Zealand while visiting our son and had the most fabulous time here, Janet and Jim made us so welcome and the lodge was lovely.
It is a place that you an chill out by the pool or the lovely river or go sightseeing and other various activities.
Janets homemade breakfast delights are lovely her yogurt is to die for.
We had the best time there and would certainly go back if we are there again .
Thankyou to you both
Rod Chez n Liam

Room Tip: Not a bad room there so peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Jim and Janet greeted us at the door and made us feel comfortable right away. Our room was comfortable, charming and private with a covered veranda and beautiful peaceful view across the river to the rolling fields. Only a few minutes from Paihia, we found this to be a superb location for exploring the area and Jim gave us plenty of pointers about what to see in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left there relaxed and energised.Definitely recommended! Thanks Jim and Janet! Caroline and Steve (Canada October 2011)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appledore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appledore Lodge

Address: 624 Puketona Road | Northland, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Appledore Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover tranquility and peace to the sound of the Waitangi River gently tumbling over miniature waterfalls and rapids, set in two acres of gently sloping pasture land and only 25 meters from the river bank, you will be spellbound by the views from your pillow and all of our accommodation with 1 kilometer of uninterrupted river frontage views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Appledore Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appledore Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appledore Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.