We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Palms to your Saves list
Edgewater Palms
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is our third visit to Paihia and every time we have stayed here
Fabulous apartment,view to die for, warm weather couldn't ask for anything more. We can even bring our two little Maltese dogs so that tops off our holiday
Great work Edgewater Palms

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We see more and more guest heading back for repeat stays.....I guess that say it all.

Look forward to your next trip

Nicki and the team at Edgewater Palms Ramada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
59
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just stayed here and found it to be perfect for us. A two bedroom apartment with fantastic views over the sea. The Manageress couldn't have been more helpful and had a lovely manner and personality. The apartment was spacious, clean and well appointed

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We see more and more guest heading back for repeat stays.....I guess that say it all.

Look forward to your next trip

Nicki and the team at Edgewater Palms Ramada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

First time visitor and wow. Lovely view extremely well appointed suite. Would be fantastic for families. Only minor down side is the basement carpark is tricky to get out of unless you only drive a mini. However small price to pay for this awesome accommodation. Will be back soon

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Edgewater.

Yes basement is a bit tight-just need to take a deep swing into the exit and you should be fine.

Hopefully you will be back to see us again soon.

Nicki and the team at Edgewater Palms Ramada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed here with 3 other friends, we had a sea view / 2 bedroom apartment with a single bed set up in the lounge for our 5th friend (not a rollaway either). Each bedroom had it's own spacious ensuite and the master bedroom even had a walk in wardrobe.
We normally choose apartment style accomodation when there is a group of us and the Edgewater Palms surpassed any other property that we have stayed at, it was very well equipped for a long stay - pity we couldn't stay longer.
We had two cars between the 5 of us and there was ample parking for both in the basement garage. One other reviewer mentioned the recycling and rubbish set up at this apartment complex, it is a brilliant idea making guests responsible for disposing of their own rubbish. The apartments are a 10 minute walk into the shopping area where there are ample bars and restaurants to please everyones tastes.
The only negative aspect of our stay was our bed, it was as hard as a rock and could have done with some new fluffy pillows, but in saying that we would most certainly stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room - there are 3 levels serviced with lifts and pay the extra for a sea view, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

On arrival the manageress very kindly upgraded us to a 2 bedroom apartment at no extra cost as we were a party of 5 (4 adults + baby). The self-contained apartment was clean, spacious with good facilities.
Staff were friendly and accommodating. Good location across the road from the beach and easy walk into town centre. Nice pool complex and secure parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom apartment for four days over the Easter weekend. It was clean, modern, spacious. The "garden view" on the second floor actually came with a bit of water front view because of the way the building is laid out. I suspect there are few bad views from this place. The recycling options surpassed our apartment in Auckland too which was a pleasant surprise. Quiet, comfortable, would stay again.

From good to great I would change:
1. Heat the pool or fix the hot tub - it was warmer to swim on the beach than in the pool most of the time. With a small child who has a cold sensitivity a warm pool means we would have been able to take advantage of it. The hot tub was undergoing repairs as well so it was unavailable.
2. Sharpen the knives - the kitchen was pretty well equipped for making meals, however the knives need more regular maintenance.
3. Add a mirror to the parking lot exit - it was a tight fit out in a RAV4, we took our time and managed to get out un-scuffed but the wall tells a story of many others who didn't have such luck.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at there one bedroom apartment looking over the waters. Was beautiful. Apartment was self contained, had great facilities.

Our three night stay was wonderful, and the lady at the reception was very helpful esp when it came to doing bookings for activities.

The swimming pool and spa is great too!!

Highly recommended to everyone visiting Paihia ;)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms

Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgewater Palms 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.