We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny with Sea Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Suites Paihia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Suites Paihia to your Saves list
Ramada Suites Paihia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Edgewater Palms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunny with Sea Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Units were well presented immediately with great lush tropical type grounds .We used the spa pool several times and the view from the spa over the pool and on to the sea was impressive.
Unit itself was clean and tidy with great utensil's and a well set up spacious kitchen and open plan lay out. Beds were big and comfortable. Bathroom and shower had functional and clean lay out. Great restaurant next door and town an easy walk.Hosts were friendly and approachable at all times.

Room Tip: Unit by the spa and pool made it easy to keep an eye on the kids .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Loved the hotel which was clean, comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was well appointed and most appliances were new. Our hosts were friendly and couldn't do enough. The restaurant next door is the best in town and the seafood second to none.

Room Tip: Away from the road is better for sleep, but close is best for teh view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks Douglas....so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

More and more people seem to be moving to the apartment style accommodation. The apartments have everything you need for an overnight or extended stay.

We are so lucky to have Alfresco's Restaurant next door...... seriously the best.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a beautiful few days in Paihia. The apartment was large & spacious. The balcony wasn't enormous and gave us a small view of the water, but was pleasant to sit on none the less.The rooms were clean and well maintained. The position was great, just over the road from the beach & a short walk from the wharf & shops. The staff were helpful & booked our trips for us, with a discount. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 738holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater and in the Bay of Islands.

Regards
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Modern, open plan self catering apartments with great design, water views and covered parking. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Excellent for families if a little expensive. Great communal lap pool with jacuzzi. Beach 10 meters over the road, walk to weekly markets, and good selection of nearby restaurants. Very helpful reception. Very happy with choice. Let's have more of these.

Room Tip: Best rooms face directly out to the bay. Great views. But all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madonna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Madonna

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater Palms. We pride ourselves on excellent service and spacious comfortable apartments, that make your stay in the beautiful Bay of Islands that much nicer.

Many Thanks

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really decent serviced apartment in a great location. The apartment was spacious, clean and provided a great base to explore Paihia, Russell and the winterless North. The few interactions that we had with the staff were all positive as they were friendly and helpful. There are plenty of accomodation options around this area and I would not hesitate to recommend Edgewater Palms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerCity_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater Palms and your time in the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It really does assist other travelers looking for the right accommodation.

Many Thanks
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at edgewater, we extended our stay and relished in the bay of islands the apartments are modern comfotable and clean. We enjoyed the friendly service and the whole complex was kept to high standards. Each morning we would pop 5m across the road and take a dip in the sea then take a short stole down the road to the shops for a coffee. This was a perfect week away for us.

Thanks for the good service, will highly reccomend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antarcticsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Great to see people get out and enjoy what the Bay of Islands has to offer.

Hopefully you will get to come back.

Kind Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoy our escapes to the Bay of Islands and now always stay at Edgewater Palms, which is consistently excellent at a 5-star level. The Resort is sparkingly presented and efficiently run by Nicki and Ben. Its waterfront location close to all amenities and next door to the most satisfying "Alfresco" restaurant makes a perfect combination.

Room Tip: The one-bedroomed apartments are excellent for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Ramada Suites Paihia, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of Edgewater Palms. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the staff at Alfresco's. We also believe it is one of the best restaurants in Paihia/bay of Islands.

Look forward to seeing you up this way again.

Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Suites Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Suites Paihia

Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand (Formerly Edgewater Palms)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Suites Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ramada Suites Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing