We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments in Paihia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Palms

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Palms
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 hotels in Paihia
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Apartments in Paihia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really decent serviced apartment in a great location. The apartment was spacious, clean and provided a great base to explore Paihia, Russell and the winterless North. The few interactions that we had with the staff were all positive as they were friendly and helpful. There are plenty of accomodation options around this area and I would not hesitate to recommend Edgewater Palms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Edgewater Palms and your time in the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It really does assist other travelers looking for the right accommodation.

Many Thanks
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    28
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
52
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at edgewater, we extended our stay and relished in the bay of islands the apartments are modern comfotable and clean. We enjoyed the friendly service and the whole complex was kept to high standards. Each morning we would pop 5m across the road and take a dip in the sea then take a short stole down the road to the shops for a coffee. This was a perfect week away for us.

Thanks for the good service, will highly reccomend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Great to see people get out and enjoy what the Bay of Islands has to offer.

Hopefully you will get to come back.

Kind Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoy our escapes to the Bay of Islands and now always stay at Edgewater Palms, which is consistently excellent at a 5-star level. The Resort is sparkingly presented and efficiently run by Nicki and Ben. Its waterfront location close to all amenities and next door to the most satisfying "Alfresco" restaurant makes a perfect combination.

Room Tip: The one-bedroomed apartments are excellent for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of Edgewater Palms. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the staff at Alfresco's. We also believe it is one of the best restaurants in Paihia/bay of Islands.

Look forward to seeing you up this way again.

Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location & accommodation but for 5 star SERVICED accommodation I wonder where the "service" is. For instance apartments are serviced every 3 days - ie after we leave. There are 3 of us sharing a 2 bed unit yet there are only shampoos etc for 2. Wifi costs $20 yet was free at, for example, Best Western Rotorua which cost approx one third of the price.there are only 2 chairs on the balcony so we have to drag out a less comfortable dining chair when we want to sit outside. All this would be acceptable in a less upmarket establishment but all these little niggles take the gloss off something special.
Chris Thompson

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgewaterpalms, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Chris - sorry to hear about your experience at Edgewater. Let me quickly address a few things.

Servicing: Edgewater Palms indeed offers 'serviced apartments'. It is made very clear on our website and in all in-room documentation that the servicing takes place at the end of every third day. Despite this we have extra supplies of all room products, including shampoo, at reception - available at no extra cost.

Wifi: The wifi card you chose to buy was $20. The other options include $7, $12, $20, and $30 - depending on how much data you require. The first 15 minutes on each device is free. You can also use our internet service throughout the entire township of Paihia - not just within the complex.

Balcony Chairs: There are 2 chairs on the balcony and an extra 4 chairs folded up in the walk-in wardrobes of each apartment. We agree you shouldn't have to use dining room chairs outside which is why we provide extras. Reception staff would have been happy to point you in the right direction if you had requested assistance.

Again, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as you could have. If you do return in the future I would recommend bringing any issues or questions to the attention of reception staff as I am confident everything in your review could have been easily and swiftly resolved whilst you were here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After booking for only two nights, we stayed eight nights during one of the busiest times of the year. Our experience at Edgewater Palms MADE the trip in so many ways. The hosts, mother-son duo, Nicki and Ben, looked after us like old friends. Imagine my surprise and delight when all the necessary kitchen tools needed to make pavlova were delivered to our door on Christmas eve, courtesy of Nicki. Even though the hotel was fully booked every night we were there, Nicki was able to find us a lovely room as our plans changed and we needed to stay longer. We loved the infinity pool, both for swimming and just looking at from the balcony. Ben was lovely to share missed episodes of our favourite TV series for our viewing pleasure. The grounds were impeccably kept and we appreciated the use of the BBQ. The only down side was the rooms were so nice, we didn't want to venture out much...but we did. Thanks for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Jeni,

It was a delight to have you with us. We get a lot of pleasure knowing our guests have enjoyed their time at Edgewater Palms.... and we know you all did.

I know it may be a while but would love to see you all back here again soon.

Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a one bedroom apartment at Edgewater Palms for 6 nights and it was not long enough. The location is idyllic, literally a stones throw from the beach and the view every morning from the balcony amazing : the blue sky and waves lapping on the sandy beach.
The apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable and staff so incredibly friendly and eager to assist in any small requests and local knowledge ; they even organised a hair appointment for me at the local hairdresser.
There was a bit of noise on a couple of nights as its so near the beach, but when the air conditioning is installed later this year, outside noise will be inaudible.
The pool, though a little chilly, is the ideal alternative to the sea and sand opposite and the pool decking a perfect place to lounge away a sunny afternoon once you have had a morning of trying some of the many fabulous walks, bike runs and sailing nearby.
A real find!

Room Tip: opt for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islands and at Edgewater Apartments.

Your feedback does help other guests when looking for the right place to stay.

The quality of your accommodation and the enjoyment of your holiday is very important to us, so anything we can do to make it better makes us feel better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment and were disappointed especially after just having stayed at the Hilton Hotel @ Lake Taupo which accurately represented itself as a 5 star property. These apartments are rated as 5 star - and very over rated.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the 1st or second floor both for security and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Pishka

Very sorry to hear that your time at Edgewater was not a good one. i am presuming you had a one bedroom garden apartment which is at the back of the complex. These rooms are cheaper than the rest of the complex because they do not have the views other apartments enjoy. Also it enables us to cater to the lower end of the market.

We are presently undergoing a complete interior refurbishment of apartments that are certainly of a 5 star standard.

If there is anything in particular I can address for you I would be happy to do so.

Regards
Nicki Kempthorne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms

Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgewater Palms 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Edgewater Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.