We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Palms to your Saves list
Edgewater Palms
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fond memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After booking for only two nights, we stayed eight nights during one of the busiest times of the year. Our experience at Edgewater Palms MADE the trip in so many ways. The hosts, mother-son duo, Nicki and Ben, looked after us like old friends. Imagine my surprise and delight when all the necessary kitchen tools needed to make pavlova were delivered to our door on Christmas eve, courtesy of Nicki. Even though the hotel was fully booked every night we were there, Nicki was able to find us a lovely room as our plans changed and we needed to stay longer. We loved the infinity pool, both for swimming and just looking at from the balcony. Ben was lovely to share missed episodes of our favourite TV series for our viewing pleasure. The grounds were impeccably kept and we appreciated the use of the BBQ. The only down side was the rooms were so nice, we didn't want to venture out much...but we did. Thanks for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Jeni,

It was a delight to have you with us. We get a lot of pleasure knowing our guests have enjoyed their time at Edgewater Palms.... and we know you all did.

I know it may be a while but would love to see you all back here again soon.

Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
59
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a one bedroom apartment at Edgewater Palms for 6 nights and it was not long enough. The location is idyllic, literally a stones throw from the beach and the view every morning from the balcony amazing : the blue sky and waves lapping on the sandy beach.
The apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean and comfortable and staff so incredibly friendly and eager to assist in any small requests and local knowledge ; they even organised a hair appointment for me at the local hairdresser.
There was a bit of noise on a couple of nights as its so near the beach, but when the air conditioning is installed later this year, outside noise will be inaudible.
The pool, though a little chilly, is the ideal alternative to the sea and sand opposite and the pool decking a perfect place to lounge away a sunny afternoon once you have had a morning of trying some of the many fabulous walks, bike runs and sailing nearby.
A real find!

Room Tip: opt for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islands and at Edgewater Apartments.

Your feedback does help other guests when looking for the right place to stay.

The quality of your accommodation and the enjoyment of your holiday is very important to us, so anything we can do to make it better makes us feel better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment and were disappointed especially after just having stayed at the Hilton Hotel @ Lake Taupo which accurately represented itself as a 5 star property. These apartments are rated as 5 star - and very over rated.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the 1st or second floor both for security and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Pishka

Very sorry to hear that your time at Edgewater was not a good one. i am presuming you had a one bedroom garden apartment which is at the back of the complex. These rooms are cheaper than the rest of the complex because they do not have the views other apartments enjoy. Also it enables us to cater to the lower end of the market.

We are presently undergoing a complete interior refurbishment of apartments that are certainly of a 5 star standard.

If there is anything in particular I can address for you I would be happy to do so.

Regards
Nicki Kempthorne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thanks for such a great experience. This was our number one place we went to. This place is beautiful, close to everything in the Bay of Islands.

Ben the host was great and friendly providing us with heaps of info on the area.

This place is the first place we have stayed at where 5- Stars means 5 - Stars!

Room Tip: Water Fronts Rooms Are. If you are traveling like us and out all day. Then one of the Rooms Away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Hi Guys

So pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Edgewater Palms.

We pride ourselves in offering first class accommodation and service.....unfortunately it doesn't always come up to everyone's standards!!

With regards another unfortunately incident you had whilst in the Bay of Islands could you please email us as we don't have your address and would like to be of some assistance in resolving that situation.

Regards

Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence, France & London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice modern apartment with loads of space, 2 bathrooms but no bath, easy access secure parking underneath, nice pool and spa based around a central courtyard; great access to the beach across the road. Balcony gave great views over the pool and views to the sea/beach (we were on the 2nd floor). Loads of modern amenities provides for easy living. Slight disappointment was the lack of airflow due for fixed windows at the rear of the unit and no air conditioning. Wifi was supposed to be chargeable but we didn't pay. Unit was also not serviced/cleaned everyday. Great service from friendly staff with helpful tips and advice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bertiebug, Manager at Edgewater Palms, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to send in a review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to make improvements. We are presently refurbishing the complex apartments so hope to have a fantastic venue once completed.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Edgewater Palms is very comfortable with excellent services. We were a group of 4 adults and cooked all our meals in the room. The kitchen is well appointed with all the utensils we would have at home. We all had different holiday agendas which included fishing ( a whopper 10lb scnapper) and the boats leave from the wharf less than 5 minutes walk away. Walking the Hururu falls along the estuary, and golf on the wonderful scenic Waitangi course. Off road biking through the forest tracks from Waitangi to Kerikeri was a pleasure if not arduous in places. Having a puncture nearly home meant a 2 km walk, but the sun was out and a delightful guy-Dan opposite Edgewater at Bay Beach Hire fixed this for me quickly and very professionally. I may add this facility also boasts bikes, sailing craft, canoes and kyaks. Edgewater is so central to all the amenities we would have no issues at all in coming back more often. Thanks to our hosts Nicki and Ben-well done.

Room Tip: If you have aged or persons with disabilities the room we had was designed for this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the edgewater apartments for 2 nights on our second stay/trip to bay of islands; clean, modern and spacious apartments. King bed was very comfortable for us. Called a day before arriving and Ben (manager) was very obliging with our requests for two apartments together. Ben then also helped with printing/scanning/emailing important and urgent documents for us, thanks Ben! Excellent location only 5 min walk to town, and beautiful outlook from the apartments!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Palms

Address: 8 - 10 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#9 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Edgewater Palms 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Palms Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Edgewater Palms Hotel Paihia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.